STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES Tuesday, April 4, 2023

MINUTE NO. 23 3:32 p.m. — Legislative Chamber

1. **Present**: Terry Jenson in the chair and members Meara Conway, Muhammad Fiaz, Marv Friesen, Joe Hargrave, Warren Kaeding, Matt Love,* Vicki Mowat,* and Hugh Nerlien.

Substituting Members

Matt Love for Meara Conway (5:03 p.m. – 8:06 p.m.) Vicki Mowat for Meara Conway (8:06 p.m. – 10:06 p.m.)

2. The following document was tabled:

Ministry of Education: Responses to questions raised at the April 3, 2023 meeting

(HUS 19-29)

3. The committee considered the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Education.

The Minister of Education and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Education

Hon. Dustin Duncan, Minister of Education

Donna Johnson, Deputy Minister

Rory Jensen, Assistant Deputy Minister

Jason Pirlot, Assistant Deputy Minister

Mike Walter, Assistant Deputy Minister

Angela Chobanik, Executive Director, Education Funding

Kevin Gabel, Executive Director, Programs

Shaylene Salazar, Executive Director, Early Learning and Child Care Renewal

Rhiannon Shaw, Executive Director, Corporate Services

Sun West School Division

Darren Gasper, Superintendent

- 4. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Education.
- 5. The committee recessed from 6:35 p.m. until 6:50 p.m.
- 6. The committee considered the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Health.

The following ministers and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Health

Hon. Paul Merriman, Minister of Health

Hon. Everett Hindley, Minister of Mental Health and Addictions, Seniors, and Rural and Remote Health

Tracey Smith, Deputy Minister

Standing Committee on Human Services April 4, 2023

Rebecca Carter, Assistant Deputy Minister Greg Gettle, Assistant Deputy Minister Ingrid Kirby, Assistant Deputy Minister Norman O'Neill, Assistant Deputy Minister Sheldon Brandt, Executive Director, Strategy and Innovation Tami Denomie, Executive Director, Partnerships, Privacy and Legislative Services Raelynn Douglas, Executive Director, Drug Plan and Extended Benefits Monica Field, Executive Director, Health Informatics Brad Havervold, Executive Director, Community Care Melissa Kimens, Executive Director, Connected Care Services Deborah Moynes-Keshen, Executive Director, Health Human Resources James Turner, Executive Director, Medical Services Joy Vanstone, Executive Director, Financial Services Jillian Code, Acting Executive Director, Population Health Chris Rhinelander, Acting Director, Hospital and Specialized Services Cameron Symon, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister Saskatchewan Health Authority Andrew Will, Chief Executive Officer eHealth Saskatchewan Davin Church, Chief Executive Officer Saskatchewan Cancer Agency Kevin Wilson, Vice-President, Population Health, Quality and Research 7. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Health. 8. It was moved by Mr. Nerlien: That this committee do now adjourn. The question being put, it was agreed to. 9. The committee adjourned at 10:06 p.m. until Wednesday, April 5, 2023 at 3:30 p.m.

Terry Jenson

Chair

Anne Drake

Committee Clerk