# STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES Monday, April 28, 2014

# MINUTE NO. 35 7:00 p.m. – Māmawapiwin Room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Delbert Kirsch in the Chair and Members David Forbes, Greg Lawrence, Paul Merriman, Kevin Phillips\*, Laura Ross and Nadine Wilson.

#### **Substituting Members**

Kevin Phillips for Mark Docherty

### **Other Members**

Danielle Chartier

2. The committee considered Bill No. 98 – The Child Care Act, 2013 / Projet de loi no 98 – Loi de 2013 sur les garderies d'enfants.

The following Education Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

### Witnesses

Ministry of Education

Hon. Don Morgan, Minister

Greg Miller, Assistant Deputy Minister

Lynn Allan, Executive Director, Early Years

Brenda Dougherty, Director, Early Childhood Program, Policy and Design

Ministry of Social Services

Billie-Jo Morrissette, Director, Income Assistance Program Design and Operational Policy

- 3. The questions being put on Clauses 1 to 34, they were agreed to.
- 4. It was moved by Mr. Lawrence:

That the committee report Bill No. 98 – The Child Care Act, 2013 / Projet de loi no 98 – Loi de 2013 sur les garderies d'enfants – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

5. The committee considered Bill No. 128 – The Saskatchewan Employment Amendment Act, 2013.

The following Labour Relations and Workplace Safety Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Hon. Don Morgan, Minister Mike Carr, Deputy Minister

Pat Parenteau, Director, Policy, Central Services

- 6. The committee recessed from 9:02 p.m. until 9:11 p.m.
- 7. The committee resumed consideration of Bill No. 128 The Saskatchewan Employment Amendment Act, 2013.
- 8. The questions being put on Clauses 1 to 10, they were agreed to.
- 9. It was moved by Ms. Ross:

That the committee report Bill No. 128 – The Saskatchewan Employment Amendment Act, 2013 – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

10. It was moved by Mr. Merrriman:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

11. The committee adjourned at 9:51 p.m. until May 1, 2014 at 2:00 p.m.

Stacey Ursulescu
Committee Clerk

Delbert Kirsch
Committee Chair