STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES Monday, April 14, 2014

MINUTE NO. 31 6:59 p.m. – Legislative Chamber

1. **Present**: Delbert Kirsch in the Chair and Members Danielle Chartier*, Mark Docherty, David Forbes, Glen Hart*, Greg Lawrence, Kevin Phillips*, Laura Ross, Nadine Wilson and Trent Wotherspoon*.

Substituting Members

Danielle Chartier for David Forbes (8:21 p.m. – 9:01 p.m. only)

Glen Hart for Laura Ross (7:03 p.m. – 8:23 p.m. only)

Kevin Phillips for Paul Merriman

Trent Wotherspoon for David Forbes (7:00 p.m. – 8:21 p.m. only)

2. The committee considered the Estimates for the Ministry of Education.

The following Education Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Don Morgan, Minister

Dan Florizone, Deputy Minister

Donna Johnson, Assistant Deputy Minister

Greg Miller, Assistant Deputy Minister

Clint Repski, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister

Lynn Allan, Executive Director, Early Years

Tim Caleval, Executive Director, Student Achievement and Supports

Gerry Craswell, Executive Director, Information Management and Support

Sheldon Ramstead, Executive Director, Infrastructure

Robert Spelliscy, Executive Director, Corporate Services

Doug Volk, Executive Director, Teachers' Superannuation Commission

Brett Waytuck, Executive Director, Provincial Library and Literacy Office

Angela Chobanik, Acting Executive Director, Education Funding

Edith Nagy, Acting Executive Director, Strategic Policy

Kathy Deck, Director of Finance, Corporate Services

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Education.
- 4. The committee recessed from 9:01 p.m. until 9:08 p.m.
- 5. The committee considered the Estimates for the Ministry of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety.

The following Labour Relations and Workplace Safety Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety:

Hon. Don Morgan, Minister

Mike Carr, Deputy Minister
Tareq Al-Zabet, Executive Director, Occupational Health and Safety
Rikki Bote, Executive Director, Communications
Greg Tuer, Executive Director, Labour Standards
Louise Usick, Executive Director, Central Services
Denise Klotz, Director, Office of the Workers' Advocate
Pat Parenteau, Director, Policy, Central Services
Tara Acoose, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister
Saskatchewan Labour Relations Board
Fred Bayer, Board Registrar
Workers' Compensation Board
Peter Federko, Chief Executive Officer

- 6. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety.
- 7. It was moved by Ms. Wilson:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

8. The committee adjourned at 10:17 p.m. until April 15, 2014 at 3:00 p.m.

tacey Ursulescu	Delbert Kirsch
ommittee Clerk	Committee Chair