STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES Monday, April 7, 2014

MINUTE NO. 28 3:21 p.m. – Legislative Chamber

1. **Present**: Delbert Kirsch in the Chair and Members Mark Docherty, David Forbes, Greg Lawrence, Paul Merriman, Laura Ross, Nadine Wilson and Trent Wotherspoon*.

Substituting Members

Trent Wotherspoon for David Forbes (7:00 p.m. – 7:58 p.m. and 9:25 p.m. – 10:31 p.m. only)

Other Members

Buckley Belanger

2. The committee considered the Estimates for the Ministry of Social Services.

The following Social Services Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. June Draude, Minister

Ken Acton, Deputy Minister

Don Allen, Assistant Deputy Minister, Housing and President of the Saskatchewan Housing Corporation

Dianne Baird, Executive Director, Housing Network

Patrick Cooper, Executive Director, Program and Service Design

Tim Gross, Executive Director, Housing Development

Miriam Myers, Executive Director, Finance

Jessica Broda, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Social Services.
- 4. The committee recessed from 5:23 p.m. until 7:00 p.m.
- 5. The committee considered the Estimates for the Ministry of Education.

The following Education Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Don Morgan, Minister

Dan Florizone, Deputy Minister

Donna Johnson, Assistant Deputy Minister

Greg Miller, Assistant Deputy Minister

Clint Repski, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister

Lynn Allan, Executive Director, Early Years

Tim Caleval, Executive Director, Student Achievement and Supports

Gerry Craswell, Executive Director, Information Management and Support

Sheldon Ramstead, Executive Director, Infrastructure

Robert Spelliscy, Executive Director, Corporate Services
Doug Volk, Executive Director, Teachers' Superannuation Commission
Brett Waytuck, Executive Director, Provincial Library and Literacy Office
Angela Chobanik, Acting Executive Director, Education Funding
Edith Nagy, Acting Executive Director, Strategic Policy
Kathy Deck, Director of Finance, Corporate Services
Rosanne Pellerin, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister

	6.	The committee adj	ourned considera	ation of the Es	stimates for the	Ministry of Education
--	----	-------------------	------------------	-----------------	------------------	-----------------------

7	The commit	ittee adjourned at	t 10:31 p.m.	until April 9, 2	2014 at 3:00 p.m.

Stacey Ursulescu
Committee Clerk

Delbert Kirsch
Committee Chair