# STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES Monday, April 22, 2013

# MINUTE NO. 16 2:59 p.m. – Māmawapiwin Room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Delbert Kirsch in the Chair and Members Danielle Chartier\*, Mark Docherty, David Forbes, Greg Lawrence, Paul Merriman, Laura Ross and Nadine Wilson.

# **Substituting Members**

Danielle Chartier for David Forbes (7:57 p.m. – 11:02 p.m. only)

#### **Other Members**

Buckley Belanger, Danielle Chartier, Doyle Vermette

2. The committee considered the Estimates for the Ministry of Social Services.

The following Social Services Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

## Witnesses

Hon. June Draude, Minister

Ken Acton, Deputy Minister

Don Allen, Assistant Deputy Minister, Housing

Alan Syhlonyk, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services

Eileen Badiuk, Executive Director, Programming and Service Design

Dianne Baird, Executive Director, Housing Network

Tim Gross, Executive Director, Housing Development

Miriam Myers, Executive Director, Finance and Administration

Wolfgang Langenbacher, Special Advisor to the Deputy Minister

Kim Blondeau, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister

- 3. The committee recessed from 4:59 p.m. until 6:56 p.m.
- 4. The committee resumed consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Social Services.

The following Social Services Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

### Witnesses

Hon. June Draude, Minister

Ken Acton, Deputy Minister

Andrea Brittin, Assistant Deputy Minister, Child and Family Services

Alan Syhlonyk, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services

Bob Wihlidal, Assistant Deputy Minister, Income Assistance and Disability Services

Lorne Brown, Executive Director, Enterprise Projects and Risk Management

Natalie Huber, Executive Director, Program Service Design

Miriam Myers, Executive Director, Finance and Administration

Wayne Phaneuf, Executive Director, Community Services

Garry Prediger, Executive Director, Service Delivery

Jeff Redekop, Executive Director, Service Delivery for Income Assistance and Disability Services Beverly Smith, Executive Director, Community Living Service Delivery Gord Tweed, Executive Director, Program Service and Design Leanne Forgie, Director, Financial Planning Doug Scott, Director, Analytics Unit Wolfgang Langenbacher, Special Advisor to the Deputy Minister Kim Blondeau, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister

- 5. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Social Services.
- 6. The committee adjourned at 11:02 p.m. until April 24, 2013 at 7:00 p.m.

Stacey Ursulescu
Committee Clerk

Delbert Kirsch
Committee Chair