STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES Monday, April 15, 2013

MINUTE NO. 13 7:00 p.m. – Māmawapiwin Room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Delbert Kirsch in the Chair and Members Mark Docherty, David Forbes, Greg Lawrence, Paul Merriman, John Nilson*, Laura Ross and Nadine Wilson.

Substituting Members

John Nilson for David Forbes (10:23 p.m. – 11:13 p.m. only)

Other Members

Cam Broten, John Nilson

2. The Chair presided over the election of a Deputy Chair. Mr. Forbes was nominated for the position. There being no further nominations, it was moved by Mr. Docherty:

That David Forbes be elected to preside as Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on Human Services.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

3. The Chair advised the committee that, pursuant to Rule 146(1), the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the following ministries and agencies were deemed referred to the committee on March 28, 2013 and March 20, 2013, respectively:

Vote 37, 169	Advanced Education
Vote 5	Education
Vote 32	Health
Vote 20	Labour Relations and Workplace Safety
Vote 36	Social Services

4. The committee considered the Estimates for the Ministry of Health.

The following Health Ministers and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Dustin Duncan, Minister of Health

Hon. Randy Weekes, Minister Responsible for Rural and Remote Health

Dan Florizone, Deputy Minister

Max Hendricks, Associate Deputy Minister

Lauren Donnelly, Assistant Deputy Minister

Duncan Fisher, Special Advisor to the Deputy Minister

Roger Carriere, Executive Director, Community Care Branch

Deb Jordan, Executive Director, Acute and Emergency Services Branch

Ron Knaus, Executive Director, Primary Health Services Branch

Pauline Rousseau, Executive Director, Strategy and Innovation Branch

Brenda Russell, Executive Director, Financial Services Branch

Shaylene Salazar, Executive Director, Medical Services Branch

Kevin Wilson, Executive Director, Drug Plan and Extended Benefits Mark Wyatt, Executive Director, Saskatchewan Surgical Initiative Andy Churko, Director, Workforce Planning Branch Cindy Fedak, Director, Financial Services Branch Trish Livingstone, Director, Kaizen Promotion Office Jim Myres, Director, Population Health Branch Tracey Smith, Assistant to the Deputy Minister

- 5. The committee recessed from 9:26 p.m. until 9:37 p.m.
- 6. The committee resumed consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Health.
- 7. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Health.
- 8. The committee adjourned at 11:13 p.m. until April 16, 2013 at 7:00 p.m.

 Stacey Ursulescu	Delbert Kirsch	
Committee Clerk	Committee Chair	