STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES Monday, May 7, 2012

MINUTE NO. 8 2:46 p.m. – Māmawapiwin Room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Delbert Kirsch in the Chair and Members Cam Broten, Danielle Chartier*, Mark Docherty, Doreen Eagles, Greg Lawrence, Russ Marchuk, Paul Merriman and Scott Moe*.

Substituting Members

Danielle Chartier for Cam Broten (7:00 p.m. – 7:53 p.m. only) Scott Moe for Russ Marchuk (7:00 p.m. – 10:33 p.m. only)

Other Members

Buckley Belanger, Danielle Chartier, David Forbes, Trent Wotherspoon

2. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Education.

The following Education Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Donna Harpauer, Minister Cheryl Senecal, Deputy Minister Greg Miller, Assistant Deputy Minister Lynn Allan, Executive Director, Early Years Tim Caleval, Executive Director, Student Achievement and Supports Lori Mann, Executive Director, Corporate Services Clint Repski, Executive Director, Education Funding Doug Volk, Executive Director, Teachers' Superannuation Commission Kathy Abernethy, Director, Early Years Angela Chobanik, Director, Education Financial Policy Stephanie Hall, Director, Provincial Library and Literacy Phil Pearson, Facilities Consultant, Corporate Services

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Education.
- 4. The committee recessed from 3:47 p.m. until 3:59 p.m.
- 5. The committee considered Bill No. 17 The Child Care Amendment Act, 2011.

The following Education Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Donna Harpauer, Minister Cheryl Senecal, Deputy Minister Greg Miller, Assistant Deputy Minister Lynn Allan, Executive Director, Early Years Clint Repski, Executive Director, Education Funding
Mike Back, Director, Infrastructure, Corporate Services
Brenda Dougherty, Director, Early Learning and Child Care and Childhood Development and Integrated Services
Drew Johnston, Director, Legislative Services and Privacy
Natalie Huber, Executive Director, Program and Service Design, Social Services
Billie-Jo Morrissette, Director, Program Design and Operational Policy, Social Services

- 6. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 5, they were agreed to.
- 7. It was moved by Ms. Eagles:

That the committee report Bill No. 17 – The Child Care Amendment Act, 2011 – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

8. The committee considered Bill No. 27 – The Education Amendment Act, 2011 / Projet de loi no 27 – Loi de 2011 modifiant la Loi de 1995 sur l'education.

The following Education Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Donna Harpauer, Minister Cheryl Senecal, Deputy Minister Greg Miller, Assistant Deputy Minister Lynn Allan, Executive Director, Early Years Clint Repski, Executive Director, Education Funding Mike Back, Director, Infrastructure, Corporate Services Brenda Dougherty, Director, Early Learning and Child Care and Childhood Development and Integrated Services Drew Johnston, Director, Legislative Services and Privacy

- 9. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 46, they were agreed to.
- 10. It was moved by Mr. Lawrence:

That the committee report Bill No. 27 – The Education Amendment Act, 2011 / Projet de loi no 27 – Loi de 2011 modifiant la Loi de 1995 sur l'education – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

- 11. The committee considered Bill No. 28 The Education Consequential Amendments Act, 2011.
- 12. The following Education Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Donna Harpauer, Minister Cheryl Senecal, Deputy Minister Greg Miller, Assistant Deputy Minister Lynn Allan, Executive Director, Early Years Clint Repski, Executive Director, Education Funding Mike Back, Director, Infrastructure, Corporate Services Brenda Dougherty, Director, Early Learning and Child Care and Childhood Development and Integrated Services Drew Johnston, Director, Legislative Services and Privacy

- 13. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 5, they were agreed to.
- 14. It was moved by Mr. Merriman:

That the committee report Bill No. 28 – The Education Consequential Amendments Act, 2011– without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

- 15. The committee recessed from 4:46 p.m. until 7:00 p.m.
- 16. The committee considered the Estimates for the Ministry of Social Services.

The following Social Services Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses Hon. June Draude, Minister Ken Acton, Deputy Minister Alan Syhlonyk, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services Louise Greenberg, Associate Deputy Minister, Child and Family Services Andrea Brittin, Executive Director, Child and Family Service Delivery Natalie Huber, Executive Director, Program and Service Design Miriam Myers, Executive Director, Finance and Administration Wayne Phaneuf, Executive Director, Child and Family Community Services

- 17. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Social Services.
- 18. The committee recessed from 8:03 p.m. until 8:32 p.m.
- 19. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety.

The following Labour Relations and Workplace Safety Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Don Morgan, Minister Mike Carr, Deputy Minister Glennis Bihum, Executive Director, Occupational Health and Safety Rikki Bote, Executive Director, Marketing and Communications Laurier Donais, Executive Director, Central Services Greg Tuer, Executive Director, Labour Standards Denise Klotz, Director, Office of the Workers' Advocate Peter Federko, Chief Executive Officer, Workers' Compensation Board Fred Bayer, Board Registrar, Saskatchewan Labour Relations Board

- 20. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety.
- 21. The committee adjourned at 10:32 p.m. until May 8, 2012 at 3:00 p.m.

Stacey Ursulescu Committee Clerk Delbert Kirsch Committee Chair