STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES Thursday, April 19, 2012

MINUTE NO. 4 1:01 p.m. – Māmawapiwin Room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Delbert Kirsch in the Chair and Members Danielle Chartier*, Mark Docherty, Doreen Eagles, Greg Lawrence, Russ Marchuk and Scott Moe*.

Substituting Members

Danielle Chartier for Cam Broten Scott Moe for Paul Merriman

Other Members

John Nilson

2. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Education.

The following Education Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Donna Harpauer, Minister

Cheryl Senecal, Deputy Minister

Greg Miller, Assistant Deputy Minister

Lynn Allan, Executive Director, Early Years

Tim Caleval, Executive Director, Student Achievement and Supports

Lori Mann, Executive Director, Corporate Services

Clint Repski, Executive Director, Education Funding

Doug Volk, Executive Director, Teachers' Superannuation Commission

Brett Waytuck, Executive Director, Provincial Library and Literacy

Kathy Abernethy, Director, Early Years

Mike Back, Director, Infrastructure, Corporate Services

Dawn Court, Former Director of Finance, Corporate Services

Daryl Richter, Manager, Capital Projects, Infrastructure

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Education.
- 4. The committee recessed from 3:00 p.m. until 3:09 p.m.
- 5. The committee considered the Estimates for the Ministry of Social Services.

The following Social Services Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. June Draude, Minister

Ken Acton, Deputy Minister

Alan Syhlonyk, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services

Bob Wihlidal, Assistant Deputy Minister, Income Assistance and Disability Services Lorne Brown, Executive Director, Enterprise Projects and Risk Management Pat Faulconbridge, Executive Director, Status of Women Office Miriam Myers, Executive Director, Finance and Administration Jeff Redekop, Executive Director, Income Assistance Service Delivery Beverly Smith, Executive Director, Community Living Service Delivery Gord Tweed, Executive Director, Program Service and Design Doug Scott, Director, Strategic Policy, Benefits Policy

6. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of

7.	It was	moved	by	Ms.	Eagles:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

8. The committee adjourned at 5:02 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Stacey Ursulescu		Delbert Kirsch
	2	

Committee Clerk Committee Chair