STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES May 15, 2006

MINUTE NO. 36 7:20 p.m. – Room 8

1. **Present:** Ms. Junor in the Chair and Members Borgerson, Crofford, Elhard, Morgan, Prebble and Wakefield.

Other Members

Mr. Brkich, Ms. Draude, Mr. Weekes

2. The following document was tabled:

HUS 44/25 Department of Culture, Youth and Recreation: Response to questions to questions raised by Ms. Draude regarding lottery funds during the April 29, 2006 committee meeting.

3. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Culture, Youth and Recreation.

The following Department of Culture, Youth and Recreation Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Glenn Hagel, Minister

Barbara MacLean, Deputy Minister

Ken Alecxe, President and CEO, SCN

Bryon Burnett, Assistant Deputy Minister

Twyla MacDougall, Executive Director, Finance, Strategic Planning and Human Resources, SCN Dawn Martin, Executive Director, Culture and Heritage Division

Don Herperger, Acting Provincial Archivist and Director of Government Records Branch, Saskatchewan Archives Board

Nevin Danielson, Director, Youth Policy and Programs Branch

Melinda Gorrill, Director, Corporate Services Branch

- 4. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Culture, Youth and Recreation.
- 5. The following Provincial Secretary and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Glenn Hagel, Provincial Secretary

Harvey G. Brooks, Deputy Provincial Secretary

Wanda Lamberti, Executive Director, Central Management Services, Government Relations

Deborah Saum, Executive Director, Protocol and Honours

Brad Lawrence, Manager, Government House

- 6. The committee recessed from 8:17 p.m. until 8:23 p.m.
- 7. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Justice.

The following Department of Justice Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Frank Quennell, Minister

Doug Moen, Deputy Minister and Deputy Attorney General

Keith Laxdal, Associate Deputy Minister, Finance and Administration Division

Rod Crook, Assistant Deputy Minister, Courts and Civil Justice Division

Susan Amrud, Executive Director, Public Law Division

Murray Brown, Executive Director, Public Prosecutions

Betty Ann Pottruff, Executive Director, Policy, Planning and Evaluation

Murray Sawatsky, Executive Director, Law Enforcement Services

Jan Turner, Executive Director, Community Justice Division

Don McKillop, Crown Solicitor, Civil Law Division

Al Dwyer, Director, Consumer Protection

Lionel McNabb, Director, Family Justice Services Branch

Gord Sisson, Director, Administrative Services Branch

Elizabeth Smith, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister

- 8. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Justice.
- 9. The committee adjourned at 9:34 p.m. until Tuesday at 3:00 p.m.

Iris Lang	Judy Junor
Committee Clerk	Committee Chair