STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES May 4, 2006

MINUTE NO. 34 4:10 p.m. – Room 8

1. **Present:** Ms. Junor in the Chair and Members Borgerson, Chisholm*, Crofford, Elhard, Morgan and Prebble.

Substituting Member

Mr. Chisholm for Mr. Wakefield

Other Members

Mr. Gantefoer, Mr. Weekes

2. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Justice.

The following Department of Justice Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Frank Quennell, Minister

Doug Moen, Deputy Minister and Deputy Attorney General

Keith Laxdal, Associate Deputy Minister, Finance and Administration Division

Rod Crook, Assistant Deputy Minister, Courts and Civil Justice Division

Susan Amrud, Executive Director, Public Law Division

Murray Brown, Executive Director, Public Prosecutions

Betty Ann Pottruff, Executive Director, Policy, Planning and Evaluation

Murray Sawatsky, Executive Director, Law Enforcement Services

Jan Turner, Executive Director, Community Justice Division

Don McKillop, Crown Solicitor, Civil Law Division

Al Dwyer, Director, Consumer Protection

Lionel McNabb, Director, Family Justice Services Branch

Gord Sisson, Director, Administrative Services Branch

Elizabeth Smith, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Justice.
- 4. The committee considered the Estimates for the Department of Advanced Education and Employment.

The following Department of Advanced Education and Employment Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Pat Atkinson. Minister

Bonnie Durnford, Deputy Minister

Randy Boldt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Immigration

Karen Allen, Executive Director, Corporate Services

Witnesses continued

Jan Morgan, Executive Director, Can-Sask Career and Employment Services Rick Pawliw, Executive Director, Programs Branch
Brady Salloum, Executive Director, Student Financial Assistance
Raman Visvanathan, Executive Director, Institutions Branch
Nelson Wagner, Executive Director, Facilities Branch
Trina Fallows, Director, Corporate Services
Eric Johansen, Director, SINP Unit, Immigration
Kevin Veitenheimer, Director, University Services Branch
Yetunde Oke, Manager, Policy and Program Support, Immigration
Giovanna Pirro, Manager, Community Partnerships and Settlement, Immigration

- 5. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Department of Advanced Education and Employment.
- 6. The committee adjourned at 7:02 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Tris Lang	Judy Junor	_
Committee Clerk	Committee Chair	