STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES May 11, 2005

MINUTE NO. 19 3:00 p.m. – Room 8

1. **Present:** Ms. Junor in the Chair and Members Borgerson, Crofford, Elhard, McCall* and Merriman.

Substituting Members

Mr. McCall for Mr. Hagel

Other Members

Ms. Draude, Mr. Gantefoer, Mr. Hart

2. The following documents were tabled:

HUS 8/25 Department of Justice: Responses to questions raised by Mr. Morgan regarding the number of police officers funded by the province during the April 6, 2005 committee meeting.

HUS 9/25 Department of Culture, Youth and Recreation: Responses to questions raised regarding *The Tommy Douglas Story* during the April 13, 2005 committee meeting.

3. The Chair presided over the election of a Deputy Chair. Mr. Merriman nominated Mr. Elhard for the position. There being no further nominations, it was moved by Mr. Merriman:

That Mr. Wayne Elhard be elected to preside as Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on Human Services

The questions being put, it was agreed to.

4. The committee considered Bill No. 80 - The Education Amendment Act, 2004 / Projet de loi nº 80 - Loi de 2004 modifiant la Loi de 1995 sur l'éducation.

The following Learning Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Andrew Thomson, Minister Lois Duffee, Executive Director, Legislative Policy and Privacy Branch Don Sangster, Executive Director, School Finance Branch

- 5. The questions being put on Clauses 1 to 3, they were agreed to.
- 6. It was moved by Mr. Borgerson:

That this committee report Bill No. 80 - The Education Amendment Act, 2004 / Projet de loi nº 80 - Loi de 2004 modifiant la Loi de 1995 sur l'éducation - without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

7. The committee considered Bill No. 114 – The Education Amendment Act, 2005 / Projet de loi nº 114 - Loi de 2005 modifiant la Loi de 1995 sur l'éducation.

The following Learning Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Andrew Thomson, Minister Lois Duffee, Executive Director, Legislative Policy and Privacy Branch Don Sangster, Executive Director, School Finance Branch

- 8. The questions being put on Clauses 1 to 25, they were agreed to.
- 9. It was moved by Mr. Borgerson:

That this committee report Bill No. 114 – The Education Amendment Act, 2005 / Projet de loi nº 114 - Loi de 2005 modifiant la Loi de 1995 sur l'éducation - without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

10. The committee considered Bill No. 115 - The Education Property Tax Credit Act.

The following Learning Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Andrew Thomson, Minister

Lois Duffee, Executive Director, Legislative Policy and Privacy Branch

Don Sangster, Executive Director, School Finance Branch

- 11. The questions being put on Clauses 1 to 7, they were agreed to.
- 12. It was moved by Mr. McCall:

That this committee report Bill No. 115 - The Education Property Tax Credit Act. - without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

13. The committee considered Bill No. 93 - The Doukhobors of Canada C.C.U.B. Trust Fund Amendment Act, 2005.

The following Culture, Youth and Recreation Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Joan Beatty, Minister Barbara MacLean, Deputy Minister Dawn Martin, Executive Director, Culture and Heritage

14. The questions being put on Clauses 1 to 3, they were agreed to.

15. It was moved by Mr. Borgerson:

That this committee report Bill No. 93 - The Doukhobors of Canada C.C.U.B. Trust Fund Amendment Act, 2005 - without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

16. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Culture, Youth and Recreation.

The following Department of Culture, Youth and Recreation Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Legislative Secretary

Mr. Hagel, Legislative Secretary, Centennial 2005 Office

Witnesses

Hon. Joan Beatty, Minister

Barbara MacLean, Deputy Minister

Ken Alexce, President and CEO, SCN

Bryon Burnett, Chief Executive Officer, Centennial 2005 Office

Dylan Jones, Executive Director of Strategic Policy and Youth

Dawn Martin, Executive Director, Culture and Heritage

Twyla McDougall, Executive Director, Finance, Strategic Planning and HR, SCN

Melinda Gorrill, Director, Corporate Services

Don Herperger, Director, Government Records Branch, Provincial Archives

Cathy Molnar, Director, Marketing and Communications, Centennial 2005 Office

Val Sluth, Director. Sport and Recreation

Shawna Kelly, Communications Consultant

- 17. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Culture, Youth and Recreation.
- 18. The committee adjourned at 5:03 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Iris Lang	Judy Junor
Committee Clerk	Committee Chair