## STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES April 13, 2005

# MINUTE NO. 16 3:00 p.m. - Room 8

1. **Present**: Ms. Junor in the Chair and Members Bakken\*, Borgerson, Chisholm, Draude\*, Harper\*, Iwanchuk\* and Toth.

## **Substituting Members**

Ms. Bakken for Mr. Toth (3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. only)

Ms. Draude for Mr. Merriman

Mr. Harper for Mr. Hagel

Mr. Iwanchuk for Hon. Ms. Crofford (3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. only)

2. The committee considered the Estimates for the Department of Community Resources and Employment.

The following Community Resources and Employment Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

### Witnesses

Hon. Joanne Crofford, Minister

Wynne Young, Deputy Minister

Darrell Jones, Assistant Deputy Minister, Housing and Central Administration

Shelley Whitehead, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy

Bob Wihlidal, Assistant Deputy Minister, Client Services

April Barry, Executive Director, Early Learning and Child Care Branch

Larry Chaykowski, Executive Director, Housing Program Operations Division

Marilyn Hedlund, Executive Director, Child and Family Services Division

Phil Walsh, Executive Director, Employment and Income Assistance Division

Karen Bittner, Director, Financial Planning Branch, Budget and Financial Management Division

Wayne Phaneuf, Associate Executive Director, Community Living Division

Gord Tweed, Associate Executive Director, Operations and Delivery Support Branch,

Employment and Income Assistance Division

3. It was moved by Mr. Chisholm:

That this committee adjourn consideration of the Estimates for the Department of Community Resources and Employment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

4. The committee considered the Estimates for the Department of Culture, Youth and Recreation.

The following Culture, Youth and Recreation Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

### Witnesses

Hon. Joan Beatty, Minister

Barbara MacLean, Deputy Minister

Ken Alexce, President and CEO, SCN

Olivia Shumski, Chief Operating Officer, Saskatchewan Centennial 2005

Danny Wilson, Chief Financial Officer

Dylan Jones, Executive Director of Strategic Policy and Youth

Dawn Martin, Executive Director, Culture and Heritage

Twyla McDougall, Executive Director, Finance, Strategic Planning and HR, SCN

Melinda Gorrill, Director, Corporate Services

Don Herperger, Director, Government Records Branch, Provincial Archives

Val Sluth, Director. Sport and Recreation

Shawna Kelly, Communications Consultant

5. It was moved by Ms. Draude:

That this committee adjourn consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Culture, Youth and Recreation.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

6. It was moved by Mr. Harper:

That the committee do now adjourn.

7. The committee adjourned at 4:58 p.m. to the call of the chair.

Iris Lang Committee Clerk	Judy Junor Committee Chair