STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES April 6, 2005

MINUTE NO. 15 3:00 p.m. - Room 8

1. **Present**: Ms. Junor in the Chair and Members Borgerson, Chisholm, Crofford, Hagel, Morgan* and Toth.

Substituting Members

Mr. Morgan for Mr. Merriman

2. The Chair presided over the election of a Deputy Chair. Mr. Morgan nominated Mr. Chisholm for the position. There being no further nominations, it was moved by Mr. Morgan:

That Mr. Michael Chisholm be elected to preside as Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on Human Services.

The questions being put, it was agreed to.

3. The Chair advised that the committee had received an Order of the Assembly, dated April 4, 2005, to consider and report back on the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the following departments and agencies:

Vote 36 Community Resources and Employment

Vote 73 Corrections and Public Safety
Vote 27 Culture, Youth and Recreation

Vote 3 Justice

4. The committee considered the Estimates for the Department of Corrections and Public Safety.

The following Corrections and Public Safety Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Mr. Prebble, Minister

Terry Lang, Deputy Minister

Maureen Lloyd, Assistant Deputy Minister

Mae Boa, Executive Director, Management Services

Bob Kary, Executive Director, Young Offender Programs

Tom Young, Executive Director, Protection and Emergency Services

Brian Krasiun, A/Executive Director, Licensing and Inspections

Duane McKay, Director, Public Safety and Sask911

Karen Lautsch., Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister

5. It was moved by Mr. Toth:

That this committee adjourn consideration of the Estimates for the Department of Corrections and Public Safety.

6. The committee considered the Estimates for the Department of Justice.

The following Justice Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Frank Quennell, Minister
Doug Moen, Deputy Minister
Keith Laxdal, Associate Deputy Minister, Finance and Administration Division
Rod Crook, Assistant Deputy Minister, Courts and Civil Justice
Susan Amrud, Executive Director, Public Law Division
Murray Brown, Executive Director, Public Prosecutions
Betty Ann Pottruff, Executive Director, Policy, Planning and Evaluation
Murray Sawatsky, Executive Director, Law Enforcement Services
Gerald Tegart, Executive Director, Civil Law Division
Jan Turner, Executive Director, Community Justice Division
Don McKillop, Crown Counsel, Civil Law Division
Lionel McNabb, Director, Family Justice Services
Gord Sisson, Director, Administrative Services Branch

- 7. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Department of Justice.
- 8. The committee adjourned at 5:00 p.m. to the call of the chair.

Elizabeth Smith, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister

ris Lang	Judy Junor	