## **STANDING COMMITTEE ON HOUSE SERVICES**



## FIRST REPORT OF THE THIRTIETH LEGISLATURE

December 4, 2024 LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF SASKATCHEWAN

Speaker of the Legislative Assembly



129 Legislative Building Regina, Saskatchewan S4S 0B3 Tel (306) 787-2282

SASKATCHEWAN

December 4, 2024

To the honourable members of the Legislative Assembly:

I have the pleasure to present the first report of the Standing Committee on House Services for the thirtieth legislature. The committee is authorized by the Assembly to examine such matters as it deems advisable with respect to the rules, procedures, practices, and powers of the Legislative Assembly, its operation and organization, and the facilities and service provided to the Assembly, its committees, and members.

This report outlines the composition of the standing committees of the Assembly and the allocation of government ministries, agencies, and Crown corporations to the various committees.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the committee,

Honourable Todd Goudy, Chair Speaker of the Legislative Assembly

## **Election of Deputy Chair**

The committee elected Nicole Sarauer as Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on House Services.

## **Establishment of the Steering Committee**

The committee created a steering committee to establish an agenda and priority of business for subsequent meetings.

### **Recommendation 1:**

That a steering committee be appointed to establish an agenda and priority of business for subsequent meetings and that the membership be comprised of the Speaker, the Government House Leader, and the Opposition House Leader; and further,

That the steering committee shall meet from time to time as directed by the committee or at the call of the Chair, that the presence of a majority of the members of the steering committee is necessary to constitute a meeting, and that substitutions from the membership of the Standing Committee on House Services be permitted on the steering committee.

## **Ratio of Members on Standing Committees**

In regard to the ratio of members on standing committees, the committee made the following recommendation.

#### **Recommendation 2:**

That the standing committees' member ratio be four government members and three opposition members, except for the Standing Committee on Privileges which should be three government members and three opposition members.

# **Membership of Standing Committees**

### **Recommendation 3**:

The committee recommends the composition of the standing committees of the Assembly pursuant to rule 139(2) as follows:

### **Standing Committee on Crown and Central Agencies**

Chris Beaudry	Terri Bromm	Lori Carr	Don McBean
Jordan McPhail	Erika Ritchie	Doug Steele	
Standing Committee on the Economy			
Kim Breckner	Tajinder Grewal	Sally Housser	Terry Jenson
Darlene Rowden	James Thorsteinson	Kevin Weedmark	
Standing Committee on House Services			
Speaker	Bhajan Brar	Lori Carr	Tim McLeod
Nicole Sarauer	Brittney Senger	Kevin Weedmark	Sean Wilson
Standing Committee on Human Services			
Brent Blakley	Noor Burki	April ChiefCalf	Kim Gartner
Barret Kropf	Michael Weger	Colleen Young	
Standing Committee on Intergovernmental Affairs and Justice			
Racquel Hilbert	Leroy Laliberte	Jamie Martens	Blaine McLeod
Betty Nippi-Albright	Alana Ross	Jacqueline Roy	
Standing Committee on Private Bills			
Lori Carr	Meara Conway	Keith Jorgenson	Blaine McLeod
Tim McLeod	Sean Wilson	Aleana Young	
Standing Committee on Privileges			
Speaker	Lori Carr	Jared Clarke	Tim McLeod
Nicole Sarauer	Darcy Warrington	Sean Wilson	
Standing Committee on Public Accounts			
David Chan	Brad Crassweller	Hugh Gordon	Daryl Harrison
Joan Pratchler	Sean Wilson	Trent Wotherspoon	

## **Allocation of Business to Policy Field Committees**

The committee has adopted a schedule pursuant to rule 139(3) that allocates government ministries, agencies, and Crown corporations to the various committees.

Rule 31(9) provides the authority for budgetary estimates to be referred to a committee. There are three types of committees with specific rules for the referral of estimates: policy field committees, Committee of Finance, and the Standing Committee on House Services. Rule 144 outlines the subject areas of the policy field committees. Estimates relating to Executive Council are referred to the Committee of Finance pursuant to rule 118(2). Pursuant to rule 139(5), all estimates for the legislative branch of government are referred to the Standing Committee on House Services.

The schedule further provides a guideline for the referral of legislation to standing committees. The schedule is attached as an appendix to this report.

### **Recommendation 4:**

That the allocation schedule for committees as specified in the appendix to this report be adopted pursuant to rule 139(3) of the *Rules and Procedures of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan*.

## Revisions to the Rules and Procedures of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan

The committee established a subcommittee to study and make recommendations on revisions to the *Rules* and *Procedures of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan*.

### **Recommendation 5:**

That a subcommittee of the Standing Committee on House Services consisting of the Speaker, the Government House Leader, and the Opposition House Leader be appointed to study and make recommendations on revisions to the *Rules and Procedures of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan*.