STANDING COMMITTEE ON HOUSE SERVICES



THIRTEENTH REPORT OF THE TWENTY-NINTH LEGISLATURE

October 24, 2023 LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF SASKATCHEWAN

Speaker of the Legislative Assembly



129 Legislative Building Regina, Saskatchewan S4S 0B3 Tel (306) 787-2282

October 24, 2023

To the Honourable Members of the Legislative Assembly:

I have the pleasure to present the thirteenth report of the Standing Committee on House Services. The committee is authorized by the Assembly to examine such matters as it deems advisable with respect to the rules, procedures, practices, and powers of the Legislative Assembly, its operation and organization, and the facilities and service provided to the Assembly, its committees, and members.

This report outlines the ratio and composition of the standing committees of the Assembly and the committee's recommendations in regard to changes to press gallery media guidelines as well observation of the Remembrance Day statutory holiday.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the committee,

Honourable Randy Weekes, Chair Speaker of the Legislative Assembly

Ratio of Members on Standing Committees

Three by-elections were held on August 10, 2023 which changed the proportions of party membership in the Assembly. As well, the Premier appointed a number of committee members to cabinet. These events necessitated the Standing Committee on House Services to revise the ratio of members on standing committees pursuant to rule 122(1) as well as revise the individual membership of the committees.

In regard to the ratio of members on standing committees, the committee made the following recommendation:

Recommendation 1:

That notwithstanding the provisional order for membership of the Standing Committee on Public Accounts and rule 139(1) regarding membership of the Standing Committee on House Services, the standing committees' member ratio shall be five government members and two opposition members, except for the Standing Committee on Privileges which shall be four government members and two opposition members.

Membership of Standing Committees

Recommendation 2:

That the composition of the standing committees of the Assembly under rule 139(4)(a) be as follows:

Standing Committee on Crown and Central Agencies

Bonk	Bradshaw	Burki	Cheveldayoff
Lawrence	Skoropad	Vermette	

Standing Committee on the Economy

Bowes	Domotor	Francis	Kirsch
Steele	Young (Lloydminster)	Young (Regina University)	

Standing Committee on House Services

Speaker	Carr	Harrison (Meadow	Lambert
_		Lake)	
Love	Mowat	Ottenbreit	Sarauer

Standing Committee on Human Services

Clarke Conway Fiaz Friesen

Kaeding Nerlien Ross (Prince Albert

Northcote)

Standing Committee on Intergovernmental Affairs and Justice

Dennis Goudy Grewal Keisig

McLeod (Lumsden- Ritchie Sarauer

Morse)

Standing Committee on Private Bills

Bradshaw Carr Conway Harrison (Meadow

Lake)

Lambert Ottenbreit Sarauer

Standing Committee on Privileges

Speaker Carr Conway Harrison (Meadow

Lake)

Lambert Ottenbreit Sarauer Young (Lloydminster)

Standing Committee on Public Accounts

Goudy Harrison (Cannington) Kirsch Lambert

Lemaigre Nerlien Wotherspoon Young (Regina

University)

Remembrance Day Statutory Holiday Observation

In 2023, Remembrance Day falls on a Saturday. However, there is no provision in the *Rules and Procedures of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan* to observe the statutory holiday on a weekday in this circumstance. As a result, the committee recommends:

Recommendation 4:

That notwithstanding rule 6(4) of the *Rules and Procedures of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan*, when the Assembly adjourns on Thursday, November 9, 2023, it shall stand adjourned until Tuesday, November 14, 2023 at 1:30 p.m. and, that in accordance with rule 3(2), the 25th and final day of the fall period of the revised parliamentary calendar shall be Thursday, December 7, 2023.