STANDING COMMITTEE ON HOUSE SERVICES



NINTH REPORT OF THE TWENTY-NINTH LEGISLATURE

November 1, 2022 LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF SASKATCHEWAN

Speaker of the Legislative Assembly



129 Legislative Building Regina, Saskatchewan S4S 0B3 Tel (306) 787-2282

November 1, 2022

To the Honourable Members of the Legislative Assembly:

I have the pleasure to present the ninth report of the Standing Committee on House Services. The committee is authorized by the Assembly to examine such matters as it deems advisable with respect to the rules, procedures, practices, and powers of the Legislative Assembly, its operation and organization, and the facilities and service provided to the Assembly, its committees, and members.

This report outlines the composition of the standing committees of the Assembly and modifications to the *Rules and Procedures of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan*.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the committee,

Honourable Randy Weekes, Chair Speaker of the Legislative Assembly

Membership of Standing Committees

The committee recommends the composition of the standing committees of the Assembly under rule 139(4)(a) as follows:

Standing Committee on Crown and Central Agencies

Bonk Bradshaw Cheveldayoff Docherty

Lawrence Steele Teed

Standing Committee on the Economy

Bowes Domotor Francis Kirsch

Ross (Prince Albert Steele Young (Lloydminster)

Northcote)

Standing Committee on House Services

Speaker Carr Harrison (Meadow Love

Lake)

Mowat Ottenbreit Ross (Prince Albert Sarauer

Northcote)

Standing Committee on Human Services

Conway Fiaz Friesen Jenson

Kaeding Meyers Nerlien

Standing Committee on Intergovernmental Affairs and Justice

Dennis Grewal Keisig Lambert

McLeod Ottenbreit Ritchie

Standing Committee on Private Bills

Carr Hargrave Harrison (Meadow Kirsch

Lake)

Ottenbreit Ross (Prince Albert Sarauer

Northcote)

Standing Committee on Privileges

Speaker Carr Harrison (Meadow Ottenbreit

Lake)

Ross (Prince Albert Sarauer Young (Lloydminster)

Northcote)

Standing Committee on Public Accounts

Goudy Hargrave Harrison (Cannington) Kirsch

Lemaigre Nerlien Wotherspoon Young (Regina

University)

Election of Deputy Chair

The committee elected Ms. Nicole Sarauer as the Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on House Services.

Revisions to the Rules and Procedures of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan

The committee made a recommendation on revisions to the Rules and Procedures of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan.

Recommendation 1:

That Rule 160 of the *Rules and Procedures of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan* be amended by omitting Rules 160(4), (5), and (6) and inserting the following:

160(4) Under the direction of the Speaker, the Sergeant-at-Arms shall preserve order and provide security in the legislative precinct.

160(5) In case the Sergeant-at-Arms is absent, the duties shall be performed by any member of the Legislative Protective Service.

160(6) The Sergeant-at-Arms is responsible for the Legislative Protective Service.