# STANDING COMMITTEE ON HOUSE SERVICES



# **SECOND REPORT**

December 12, 2007

 $1^{ST}$  SESSION <sup>of the</sup>  $26^{th}$  LEGISLATURE

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF SASKATCHEWAN

Speaker of the Legislative Assembly



129 Legislative Building Regina, Saskatchewan S4S 0B3 Tel (306) 787-2282

December 12, 2007

To the Honourable Members of the Legislative Assembly:

### **HONOURABLE MEMBERS:**

I have the pleasure to present herewith the Second Report of the Standing Committee on House Services. The Committee is authorized by the Assembly to examine such matters as it deems advisable with respect to the rules, procedures, practices, and powers of the Legislative Assembly, its operations, organization, and the facilities and service provided to the Assembly, its committees, and Members.

This report outlines the composition of the standing committees of the Assembly and the allocation of government ministries, agencies and Crown Corporations to the various committees.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the Committee,

Honourable Don Toth, Chair Speaker of the Legislative Assembly Moosomin MLA

### 1. Election of Deputy Chair

Your committee elected Mr. Taylor as Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on House Services.

## 2. Membership of Standing Committees

Your committee recommends the composition of the standing committees of the Assembly under Rule 138(3) as follows:

Crown	and	Central	<b>Agencies</b>
CIUWII	anu	Cuiuai	Aguillius

Duncan Heppner McMillan Reiter

Trew Weekes Yates

The Economy

Furber Harrison Huyghebaert

Michelson Ross Wilson

**House Services** 

Speaker Allchurch Gantefoer Harpauer

Iwanchuk Taylor Weekes Yates

**Human Services** 

Allchurch Broten Eagles Hart

Junor LeClerc Ottenbreit

**Intergovernmental Affairs and Justice** 

Bradshaw Brkich Chisholm Higgins

Kirsch Schreimer Wotherspoon

#### **Private Bills**

Allchurch Junor McMillan Ross

Schreimer Wilson Wotherspoon

**Privileges** 

Speaker Allchurch Brkich Eagles

LeClerc Taylor Yates

**Public Accounts** 

Bradshaw Chisholm Harrison Michelson

Nilson Reiter Van Mulligen

### 3. Allocation of Business to Policy Field Committees

Your Committee has adopted a schedule as per Rule 137(3) that allocates government ministries, agencies and Crown corporations to the various committees. Rule 28(7) provides the authority for budgetary estimates to be referred to a committee. There are three types of committees with specific rules for the referral of estimates, policy field committees, Committee of Finance and the Standing Committee on House Services. Rule 141 provides the subject area for policy field committees. Estimates relating to Executive Council are referred to the Committee of Finance as per Rule 117. Pursuant to Rule 137(5), all Estimates for the legislative branch of government are referred to the Standing Committee on House Services. The schedule further provides a guideline for the referral of legislation to standing committees. The schedule is attached as an appendix to this report.

#### Recommendation

That the allocation schedule for committees, as specified in the Appendix to the Second Report of the Standing Committee on House Services, be adopted as per Rule 30(9) and as a guideline in accordance with Rule 137(3) of *The Rules and Procedures of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan*.