## STANDING COMMITTEE ON HOUSE SERVICES Wednesday, December 4, 2024

## MINUTE NO. 1 8:15 a.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Speaker Goudy in the chair and members the Hon. Lori Carr, Meara Conway,\* the Hon. Tim McLeod, Jordan McPhail,\* Vicki Mowat,\* Kevin Weedmark, and Sean Wilson.

## **Substituting Members**

Meara Conway for Bhajan Brar Jordan McPhail for Brittney Senger Vicki Mowat for Nicole Sarauer

- 2. Speaker Goudy advised that pursuant to rule 139(1), the government caucus has designated the Hon. Lori Carr, the Hon. Tim McLeod, Kevin Weedmark, and Sean Wilson as members of the Standing Committee on House Services, and the opposition caucus has designated Bhajan Brar, Nicole Sarauer, and Brittney Senger as members of the Standing Committee on House Services.
- 3. Speaker Goudy presided over the election of a Deputy Chair. Nicole Sarauer was nominated for the position. There being no further nominations, it was moved by Vicki Mowat:

That Nicole Sarauer be elected to preside as Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on House Services.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

4. It was moved by the Hon. Tim McLeod:

That a steering committee be appointed to establish an agenda and priority of business for subsequent meetings and that the membership be comprised of the Speaker, the Government House Leader, and the Opposition House Leader; and further,

That the steering committee shall meet from time to time as directed by the committee or at the call of the Chair, that the presence of a majority of the members of the steering committee is necessary to constitute a meeting, and that substitutions from the membership of the Standing Committee on House Services be permitted on the steering committee.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

- 5. The committee considered the composition of the standing committees.
- 6. It was moved by the Hon. Tim McLeod:

That the standing committees' member ratio shall be four government members and three opposition members except for the Standing Committee on Privileges which shall be three government members and three opposition members.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

7. The committee considered the membership of standing committees.

8. The following documents were tabled:

Opposition caucus: opposition caucus standing committee membership	(HOS 1-30)
Government caucus: government caucus standing committee membership	(HOS 2-30)

9. It was moved by the Hon. Tim McLeod:

That the lists of members to serve on standing committees as tabled by the government and opposition caucuses be adopted and reported to the Assembly.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

10. The committee considered the allocation schedule. It was moved by the Hon. Tim McLeod:

That the allocation schedule be adopted pursuant to rule 139(3) of the *Rules and Procedures of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan*.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

11. It was moved by the Hon. Tim McLeod:

That a subcommittee of the Standing Committee on House Services consisting of the Speaker, the Government House Leader, and the Opposition House Leader be appointed to study and make recommendations on revisions to the *Rules and Procedures of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan*.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

12. The committee considered its first report. It was moved by the Hon. Tim McLeod:

That the first report of the Standing Committee on House Services for the thirtieth legislature be adopted and presented to the Assembly.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

13. It was moved by the Hon. Tim McLeod:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

14. The committee adjourned at 8:27 a.m. to the call of the Chair.

Miranda Gudereit Committee Clerk Hon. Todd Goudy, Speaker Chair