STANDING COMMITTEE ON HOUSE SERVICES Tuesday, November 1, 2022

MINUTE NO. 8

9:04 a.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

- 1. **Present**: Mr. Speaker in the chair and members Hon. Lori Carr, Hon. Jeremy Harrison, Matt Love, Vicki Mowat, Greg Ottenbreit, Alana Ross, and Nicole Sarauer.
- 2. The Speaker presided over the election of a Deputy Chair. Ms. Mowat nominated Ms. Sarauer for the position. There being no further nominations, it was moved by Ms. Mowat:

That Nicole Sarauer be elected to preside as Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on House Services.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

3. It was moved by Ms. Mowat:

That a steering committee be appointed to establish an agenda and priority of business for subsequent meetings and that the membership be comprised of Mr. Speaker, Hon. Jeremy Harrison, and Ms. Nicole Sarauer; and further,

That the steering committee shall meet from time to time as directed by the committee or at the call of the Chair, that the presence of a majority of the members of the steering committee is necessary to constitute a meeting, and that substitutions from the membership of the Standing Committee on House Services be permitted on the steering committee.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

4. It was moved by Ms. Mowat:

That a subcommittee of the Standing Committee on House Services consisting of the Speaker, Hon. Jeremy Harrison, and Ms. Nicole Sarauer be appointed to study and make recommendations on revisions to the *Rules and Procedures of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan*.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

- 5. The committee considered changes to membership on standing committees pursuant to rule 139(4)(a).
- 6. It was moved by Ms. Mowat:

That the name of Nicole Sarauer be substituted for the name of Jennifer Bowes on the Standing Committee on Privileges.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

7. It was moved by Mr. Love:

That the name of Nicole Sarauer be substituted for the name of Vicki Mowat on the Standing Committee on Private Bills.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

8. It was moved by Ms. Sarauer:

That the name of Nathaniel Teed be substituted for the name of Erika Ritchie on the Standing Committee on Crown and Central Agencies.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

9. It was moved by Ms. Sarauer:

That the name of Jennifer Bowes be substituted for the name of Aleana Young on the Standing Committee on the Economy.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

10. It was moved by Ms. Sarauer:

That the name of Erika Ritchie be substituted for the name of Betty Nippi-Albright on the Standing Committee on Intergovernmental Affairs and Justice.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

11. It was moved by Hon. Mr. Harrison:

That Rule 160 of the Rules and Procedures of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan be amended by omitting Rules 160(4), (5), and (6) and inserting the following:

160(4) Under the direction of the Speaker, the Sergeant-at-Arms shall preserve order and provide security in the legislative precinct.

160(5) In case the Sergeant-at-Arms is absent, the duties shall be performed by any member of the Legislative Protective Service.

160(6) The Sergeant-at-Arms is responsible for the Legislative Protective Service.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

12. The committee considered its ninth report. It was moved by Hon. Mr. Harrison:

That the ninth report of the Standing Committee on House Services be adopted and presented to the Assembly.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

13. It was moved by Ms. Sarauer:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

14. The committee adjourned at 9:16 a.m. to the call of the Chair.		
	-	
Rob Park Committee Clerk		Hon. Randy Weekes, Speaker Chair