## STANDING COMMITTEE ON HEALTH CARE

## July 26<sup>th</sup>, 2001

## MINUTE NO. 13 9:03 a.m. – Legislative Chamber

1. PRESENT: Ms. Junor in the Chair and Members Bakken, Boyd, Gantefoer, Melenchuk and Thomson.

Ms. Hamilton substituting for Mr. Belanger Mr. Yates substituting for Mr. McCall

Members, not of the Committee, present:

Mr. Wall

Others Present:

Leslie Anderson, Committee Researcher

- Pursuant to its Order of Reference dated May 25, 2001, the Committee resumed receiving and reporting on representations from interested parties and individual with respect to the Final Report of the Commission on Medicare.
- 3. Mr. Tim Keene and Ms. Lyn Johnston representing the City of Swift Current addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

Mr. Keene tabled the following document:

HCC 87/24 City of Swift Current: Written submission.

- 4. Ms. Connie Deiter representing the Prairie Women's Health Centre of Excellence addressed the Committee and, with Ms. Sabiston responded to questions.
- 5. Ms Beverley DeJong addressed the Committee.

Ms. DeJong tabled the following document:

HCC 88/24 Beverley DeJong: Written submission dated July 26, 2001.

6. Dr. Laurene Wilson representing the Saskatchewan Psychological Association addressed the Committee and, with Drs. Elizabeth Ivanochko and Timothy Greenough, responded to questions.

Dr. Wilson tabled the following document:

HCC 89/24 Saskatchewan Psychological Association: Written submission dated July 26, 2001.

7. Mr. Gordon West and Ms. Barbara Robinson representing the Saskatchewan Association of Boards of Addictions Services addressed the Committee and, with Mssrs. Russell Dann and Joe Penkala, responded to questions.

Mr. West tabled the following document:

HCC 90/24 Saskatchewan Association of Boards of Addictions Services: Written submission.

8. Mr. Ron Crowe representing the File Hills Qu'Appelle Tribal Council addressed the Committee and, with Mr. Chuck Ward, responded to questions.

HCC 91/24 File Hills Qu'Appelle Tribal Council: Written submission dated July 26, 2001.

- 9. At 12:32 p.m., the Committee recessed until 1:33 p.m.
- 10. Mssrs. Dean Bradley and William Gerla representing the Representative Board of Saskatchewan Pharmacists addressed the Committee and Mr. Gerla responded to questions.

Mr. Gerla tabled the following document:

HCC 92/24 Representative Board of Saskatchewan Pharmacists: Written submission dated July 26, 2001.

11. Mr. Harry Palko and Ms. Rosalie Daisley representing the Community of Hudson Bay addressed the Committee and Mr. Palko responded to questions.

Mr. Palko tabled the following document:

HCC 93/24 Community of Hudson Bay: Written submission.

- 12. Mssrs. Evans Thordarson and Henry Bzdel representing the Rural Municipality of Elfros No. 307 addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 13. At 2:37 p.m, the Committee recessed until 2:48 p.m.
- 14. Mr. Carl Wenaas representing The High Country Consultancy addressed the Committee.

Mr. Wenaas tabled the following document:

HCC 94/24 The High Country Consultancy: Written submission dated July 26, 2001.

- 15. At 3:08 p.m., the Committee recessed until 3:28 p.m.
- 16. Mr. Alan Moss and Dwight Dunn representing the Wolseley Health Committee addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
  - Mr. Moss tabled the following document:

HCC 95/24 Wolseley Health Committee: Written submission.

- 17. Mr. Richard Bourassa and Dr. Jack Reilly representing Bourassa & Associates Rehabilitation Centre addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
  - Mr. Bourassa tabled the following document:

**HCC 96/24 Bourassa & Associates Rehabilitation Centre**: Written submission dated July 26, 2001.

18. It was moved by Mr. Thomson:

That this Committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

19. The Committee adjourned at 4:49 p.m. until 10:30 a.m. on Tuesday, August 21, 2001.

Viktor Kaczkowski	Judy Junor
Committee Clerk	Committee Chair