STANDING COMMITTEE ON HEALTH CARE

July 24th, 2001

MINUTE NO. 11 10:03 a.m. – Legislative Chamber

1. PRESENT: Ms. Junor in the Chair and Members Belanger, Boyd, Melenchuk, and Thomson.

Ms. Draude substituting for Ms. Bakken Ms. Harpauer substituting for Mr. Gantefoer Mr. Yates substituting for Mr. McCall

Others Present:

Leslie Anderson, Committee Researcher

- 2. Pursuant to its Order of Reference dated May 25, 2001, the Committee resumed receiving and reporting on representations from interested parties and individual with respect to the Final Report of the Commission on Medicare.
- 3. Mr. Sinclair Harrison representing the Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

Mr. Sinclair tabled the following document:

HCC 55/24 Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities: Written submission dated July 24, 2001.

4. Mssrs. Bob Walker and Michael Huck and Ms. Bev Prescott representing the Saskatchewan Voice of People with Disabilities addressed the Committee and Mr. Huck and Ms. Prescott responded to questions.

HCC 56A/24 Saskatchewan Voice of People with Disabilities: Written submission.

HCC 56B/24 Saskatchewan Voice of People with Disabilities: Written submission entitled "Saskatchewan's Disability Action Plan" prepared by the Saskatchewan Council on Disability Issues dated June 2001.

HCC 56C/24 Saskatchewan Voice of People with Disabilities: Written submission entitled "In Unison 2000: Persons with Disabilities in Canada".

5. Mss. Linda Restau representing the Twin Rivers Health District and Marion Hougham representing the Paradise Hill and District Health Advisory Committee addressed the Committee and, with Ms. Bonnie O'Grady, answered questions.

Ms. Restau tabled the following document:

HCC 57A/24 Twin Rivers Health District: Written submission dated July 24, 2001.

Ms. Hougham tabled the following document:

HCC 57B/24 Paradise Hill and District Advisory Committee: Written submission dated July 24, 2001.

6. Dr. William Silver addressed the Committee.

HCC 58/24 Dr. William Silver: Written submission.

- 7. At 12:35 p.m., the Committee recessed until 1:04 p.m.
- 8. Ms. Connie Anderson representing the Pipestone Assiniboine Advocacy, Ms. Sherry Spray representing the Town of Kelvington, Mr. Larry Bjerland representing the Town of Rose Valley, and Ms. Margaret Franks addressed the Committee and Ms. Anderson answered questions.

Ms. Anderson tabled the following document:

HCC 59A/24 Pipestone Assiniboine Advocacy: Written submission.

Ms. Spray tabled the following document:

HCC 59B/24 Town of Kelvington: Written submission.

Mr. Bjerland tabled the following document:

HCC 59C/24: Town of Rose Valley: Written submission dated July 24, 2001.

Ms. Franks tabled the following document:

HCC 59D/24 Margaret Franks: Written submission.

- 9. Mr. James H. Van Eaton and Dr. Jack Spencer representing the Shellbrook Hospital Advisory Committee addressed the Committee and answered questions.
 - Mr. Van Eaton tabled the following document:

HCC 60/24 Shellbrook Hospital Advisory Committee: Written submission dated July 24, 2001.

- 10. Dr. Ralph Nilson representing the Saskatchewan Population Health & Evaluation Research Unit addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 11. Dr. Lawrence Clein and Mss. Edna Parrott and Peggy Holton representing the Saskatchewan Palliative Care Association addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

Dr. Clein tabled the following document:

HCC 61/24 Saskatchewan Palliative Care Association: Written submission dated July 24, 2001.

- 12. At 3:48 p.m. the Committee recessed until 3:57 p.m.
- 13. Ms. Vicki Helm and Mssrs. Greg Hadubiak and Roger Brekko representing the Lloydminster District Health Board and City of Lloydminster addressed the Committee and Mr. Hadubiak responded to questions.

Ms. Helm tabled the following document:

HCC 62A/24 Lloydminster District Health Board: Written submission dated July 24, 2001.

Mr. Brekko tabled the following document:

HCC 62B/24 City of Lloydminster: Written submission dated July 24, 2001.

- 14. Mr. Don McCallum representing the Town of Cut Knife & Rural Municipality of Cut Knife No. 439 addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
 - Mr. McCallum tabled the following document:

HCC 63/24 Town of Cut Knife and the Rural Municipality of Cut Knife No. 439: Written submission dated July 24, 2001.

- 15. At 4:43 p.m., the Committee recessed until 7:02 p.m.
- 16. Drs. Bev Karras and Briane Scharfstein representing the Saskatchewan Medical Association addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
 - Dr. Karras tabled the following document:

HCC 64/24 Saskatchewan Medical Association: Written submission dated July 24, 2001.

17. Mr. Richard Anderson representing the Town of Kerrobert addressed the Committee and, with Mr. Erhard Poggemiller, responded to questions.

Mr. Anderson tabled the following document:

HCC 65/24 Town of Kerrobert: Written submission dated July 23, 2001.

18. Mr. Erhard Poggemiller representing the Prairie West District Health Board addressed the Committee and, with Mr. Rick Stevenson responded to questions.

Mr. Poggemiller tabled the following document:

HCC 66/24 Prairie West District Health Board: Written submission dated July 2001.

19. Mssrs. Dale Holmberg and Don Mitchell representing the Saskatchewan Health Coalition, Moose Jaw Branch, addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

Mr. Holmberg tabled the following documents:

HCC 67A/24 Saskatchewan Health Coalition, Moose Jaw Branch: Written submission in the name of Don Mitchell.

HCC 67B Saskatchewan Health Coalition, Moose Jaw Branch: Written submission in the name of Dale Holmberg dated July 24, 2001.

- 20. At 9:05 p.m., the Vice-Chair assumed the chair.
- 21. At 9:08 p.m., the Chair resumed the chair.
- 22. Mssrs. Ansgar Tynning and Wally Lorenz representing the West Central Municipal Government Committee addressed the Committee and with Mr. Erhard Poggemiller responded to questions.

Mr. Tynning tabled the following document:

HCC 68/24 West Central Government Municipal Committee: Written submission dated July 24, 2001.

23. Mr. Kim Hauta representing the Town of Kindersley addressed the Committee and Mssrs. Cecil Campbell and Ed Woloshyn responded to questions.

Mr. Hauta tabled the following document:

HCC 69/24 Town of Kindersley: Written submission dated July 24, 2001.

| 24. It was moved by Mr. Belanger: | |
|--|-----------------|
| That this Committee do now adjourn. | |
| The question being put, the motion was agreed to. | |
| 25. The Committee adjourned at 10:47 p.m. until 9:00 a.m. on Wednesday, July 25, 2001. | |
| | |
| | |
| Viktor Kaczkowski | Judy Junor |
| Committee Clerk | Committee Chair |