## STANDING COMMITTEE ON HEALTH CARE

## July 10<sup>th</sup>, 2001

## MINUTE NO. 7 10:03 a.m. – Legislative Chamber

1. PRESENT: Ms. Junor in the Chair and Members Bakken, Belanger, Boyd, Gantefoer, McCall, Melenchuk and Thomson.

Others Present:

Leslie Anderson, Committee Researcher

- 2. Pursuant to its Order of Reference dated May 25, 2001, the Committee commenced receiving and reporting on representations from interested parties and individual with respect to the Final Report of the Commission on Medicare.
- 3. Mr. Jack Boan addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

Mr. Boan tabled the following document:

HCC 17/24 Jack Boan: Written submission.

4. Mssrs. John Warnock, Garry Ewart, Fiorindo Agi and Ms. Susan Langer representing the New Green Alliance addressed the Committee and Mr. Warnock responded to questions.

Mr. Warnock tabled the following documents:

**HCC 18A/24 New Green Alliance**: Written submission entitled "An Alternative Approach to Health in Saskatchewan" dated July 10, 2001.

**HCC 18B/24 New Green Alliance**: Written submission entitled "The Report of the Commission on Medicare and Local, Democratic Control" dated July 10, 2001.

- 5. At 11:17 a.m., the Committee recessed until 11:21 a.m.
- 6. Ms. Sheri Biemans representing the Saskatchewan Association of Licensed Practical Nurses addressed the Committee and with Ms. Ede Leeson responded to questions.

Ms. Biemans tabled the following document:

HCC 19/24 Saskatchewan Association of Licensed Practical Nurses: Written submission dated July 10, 2001.

- 7. At 12:03 p.m., the Committee recessed until 1:02 p.m.
- 8. Mr. Larry Miskiman representing the Town of Moosomin addressed the Committee and with Mssrs. Bradley and Newman responded to questions.
  - Mr. Miskiman tabled the following document:

HCC 20/24 Town of Moosomin: Written submission dated July 2001.

9. Ms. Shelley Lipon representing the Saskatchewan Health Information Network addressed the Committee and with Dr. Dennis Kendel responded to questions.

Ms. Lipon tabled the following document:

HCC 21/24 Saskatchewan Health Information Network: Written submission.

10. Ms. Sherry McKinnon representing the Arthritis Society-Saskatchewan Division addressed the Committee and with Ms. Janine Osberg responded to questions.

Ms. McKinnon tabled the following document:

HCC 22/24 Arthritis Society-Saskatchewan Division: Written submission.

- 11. At 2:22 p.m., the Committee recessed until 2:28 p.m.
- 12. Mr. John A. Nightingale representing the Town of Esterhazy addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
  - Mr. Nightingale tabled the following document:

HCC 23/24 Town of Esterhazy: Written submission.

13. Mr. Thomas A. Sokalski addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

Mr. Sokalski tabled the following document:

**HCC 24/24 Thomas A. Sokalski** Letter addressed to the Hon. John Nilson, Minister of Health dated June 3, 2001.

14. Mr. Dean Smith addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

Mr. Smith tabled the following document:

HCC 25/24 Dean Smith: Written submission dated July 10, 2001.

15. At 3:38 p.m., the Committee recessed until 7:01 p.m.

16. Mssrs. Max Morin, Al Rivard and Ms. Judy Moore representing the Northern Health Strategy addressed the Committee and with Mr. Richard Petit responded to questions.

Mr. Morin tabled the following documents:

**HCC 26A/24 Northern Health Strategy**: Written submission entitled "Health Snapshot Northern Saskatchewan" prepared by Dr. James Irvine, Medical Health Officer.

**HCC 26B/24 Northern Health Strategy**: Written submission entitled "A Northern Health Strategy".

17. Dr. Dennis Kendel representing the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan addressed the Committee and with Dr. Fred Morris responded to questions.

Dr. Kendel tabled the following documents:

HCC 27/24 College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan: Written submission.

18. It was moved by Mr. Melenchuk:

That this Committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

19. The Committee adjourned at 9:07 p.m. until 10:00 a.m. on Wednesday, July 11, 2001.

Viktor Kaczkowski	Judy Junor
Committee Clerk	Committee Chair