STANDING COMMITTEE ON HEALTH CARE

June 27th, 2001

MINUTE NO. 4 9:32 a.m. – Legislative Chamber

1. PRESENT: Ms. Junor in the Chair and Members Bakken, Belanger, Gantefoer, McCall, Melenchuk and Thomson.

Ms. Harpauer substituting for Mr. Boyd

Others Present:

Leslie Anderson, Committee Researcher

- 2. Pursuant to its Order of Reference dated May 25, 2001, the Committee resumed receiving and reporting on representations from interested parties and individual with respect to the Final Report of the Commission on Medicare.
- 3. Mss. Lorna Glasser, representing Medical Laboratory Technologists, and Donalda Garner, representing Medical Radiation Technologists, Regina Health District, addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

Ms. Glasser tabled the following document:

HCC 007/24 Medical Laboratory Technologists: Written submission entitled "Response to Fyke Report on behalf of Medical Laboratory Technologists".

Ms. Garner tabled the following documents:

HCC 008A/24 Medical Radiation Technologists, Regina Health District: Written submission dated June 27, 2001.

HCC 008B/24 Medical Radiation Technologists, Regina Health District: Written submission entitled "Canadian Association of Medical Radiation Technologists Professional Development".

4. Ms. Jaret Bradshaw and Mr. Roy Joubert representing the Saskatchewan Pharmaceutical Association addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

Ms. Bradshaw tabled the following documents:

HCC 09A/24 Saskatchewan Pharmaceutical Association: Written submission dated June 27, 2001.

HCC 09B/24 Saskatchewan Pharmaceutical Association: Written submission entitled "Annual Report".

5. Mr. Peter MacKinnon representing the University of Saskatchewan addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

Mr. MacKinnon tabled the following document:

HCC 010/24 University of Saskatchewan: Written submission dated June 27, 2001.

- 6. At 11:12 a.m., the Committee recessed until 11:14 a.m.
- 7. Dr. A. Ruben J. Rajakumar addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 8. Mssrs. Len Wawryk and McRonald Kamaka representing the Saskatchewan Heart Centre addressed the Committee and Mr. Wawryk and Dr. Rajakumar responded to questions.

HCC 011A/24 Saskatchewan Heart Centre: Speaking notes.

HCC 011B/24 Saskatchewan Heart Centre: Written submission entitled "Saskatchewan Heart Centre: A Place for the Heart".

9. It was moved by Mr. Belanger:

That this Committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

10. The Committee adjourned at 12:06 p.m. until 10:30 a.m. on Tuesday, July 3, 2001.

Viktor Kaczkowski	Judy Junor	
Committee Clerk	Committee Chair	