## STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Thursday, May 13, 2010

## MINUTE NO. 32 11:27 a.m. – Room 8

1. **Present**: Darryl Hickie in the Chair and Members Ron Harper, Delbert Kirsch\*, Greg Ottenbreit\*, Laura Ross, Lyle Stewart, Nadine Wilson and Kevin Yates\*.

## Substituting Members

Kevin Yates for Len Taylor Greg Ottenbreit for Hon. Dustin Duncan Delbert Kirsch for Laura Ross (2:02 p.m. – 2:36 p.m. only)

## **Other Members**

Dwaine Lingenfelter Deb Higgins Sandra Morin

2. The committee considered the Estimates for the Ministry of Agriculture.

The Agriculture Minister and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

WitnessesHon. Bob Bjornerud, MinisterAlanna Koch, Deputy MinisterNithi Govindasamy, Associate Deputy MinisterRick Burton, Assistant Deputy MinisterLaurier Donais, Executive Director, Corporate ServicesTom Schwartz, Director, Financial Programs BranchCam Swan, General Manager, Saskatchewan Crop Insurance CorporationMaury Harvey, Manager, Business Risk ManagementJames Kettel, Manager, Trade, Competitiveness and Agri-Food Development

- 3. The committee recessed from 1:05 p.m. until 1:12 p.m.
- 4. The committee resumed consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Agriculture.
- 5. The committee concluded consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Agriculture. On motion of Mr. Stewart:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2011 the following sum:

6. It was moved by Mr. Stewart:

That the Seventh Report of the Standing Committee on the Economy be adopted and presented to the Assembly.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

7. It was moved by Ms. Wilson:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

8. The committee adjourned at 2:36 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Nathan Elliott Committee Clerk Darryl Hickie Committee Chair