STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Tuesday, April 20, 2010

MINUTE NO. 25 7:00 p.m. – Room 8

1. **Present:** Darryl Hickie in the Chair and Members Ron Harper, Greg Ottenbreit*, Laura Ross, Lyle Stewart, Len Taylor and Nadine Wilson.

Substituting Members

Greg Ottenbreit for Dustin Duncan

Other Members

Buckley Belanger, David Forbes, Dwain Lingenfelter, Kim Trew, Doyle Vermette

2. The chair advised that, pursuant to Rule 146(1), the Estimates for the following ministries and agencies were deemed referred to the committee on April 1, 2010:

Vote 1	Agriculture
Vote 23	Energy and Resources
Votes 43, 144	Enterprise and Innovation Programs
Vote 83	Enterprise Saskatchewan
Vote 26	Environment
Vote 16	Highways and Infrastructure
Vote 17	Highways and Infrastructure Capital
Vote 84	Innovation Saskatchewan
Vote 35	Saskatchewan Research Council

3. The committee considered Estimates for the Ministry of Energy and Resources.

The following Energy and Resources Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Bill Boyd, Minister

Kent Campbell, Deputy Minister

Ed Dancsok, Assistant Deputy Minister, Petroleum and Natural Gas

Hal Sanders, Assistant Deputy Minister, Resource and Energy Policy and Corporate and Financial Services

Bob Ruggles, Associate Deputy Minister, Forestry Development

George Patterson, Executive Director, Exploration and Geological Services

Bob Ellis, Director of Public Affairs

Julia Walter, Intern

- 4. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Energy and Resources.
- 5. The committee recessed from 9:04 p.m. until 9:09 p.m.
- 6. The committee considered the Estimates for the Ministry of Environment.

The following Environment Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Nancy Heppner, Minister

Liz Quarshie, Deputy Minister

Lin Gallagher, Assistant Deputy Minister, Resource Management and Compliance Division

Donna Johnson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Support Division

Mark Wittrup, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Protection and Audit Division

Kevin Callele, Executive Director, Compliance Branch

Sam Ferris, Executive Director, Municipal Branch

Bob Wynes, Executive Director, Forest Service

Kim Graybiel, Director, Climate Change

Jennifer McKillop, Director, Aboriginal Affairs

Todd Olexson, Director, Lands Branch

Laurel Welsh, Acting Director, Finance and Administration Branch

Wayne Dybvig, Acting President, Watershed Authority

Bob Carles, Vice-president, Stewardship, Watershed Authority

- 7. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Environment.
- 8. It was moved by Mr. Ottenbreit:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

9. The committee adjourned at 10:39 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Nathan Elliott Darryl Hickie
Committee Clerk Committee Chair