## STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Tuesday, April 21, 2009

# MINUTE NO. 18 3:00 p.m. - Room 8

1. **Present**: D.F. (Yogi) Huyghebaert in the Chair and Members Pat Atkinson\*, Cam Broten\*, Darcy Furber, Ron Harper, Jeremy Harrison, Warren Michelson, Sandra Morin\*, Laura Ross, Joceline Schriemer\* and Nadine Wilson.

### **Substituting Members**

Pat Atkinson for Ron Harper (3:45 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. only) Cam Broten for Darcy Furber (7:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. only) Sandra Morin for Darcy Furber (9:06 p.m. – 10:30 p.m. only) Joceline Schriemer for Laura Ross (4:10 p.m. – 10:30 p.m. only)

#### **Other Members**

Doyle Vermette

2. The committee considered Estimates for the Ministry of Agriculture.

The following Agriculture Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Hon. Bob Bjornerud, Minister
Alanna Koch, Deputy Minister
Nithi Govindasamy, Associate Deputy Minister
Rick Burton, Assistant Deputy Minister
Laurier Donais, Executive Director, Corporate Services
Al Syhlonyk, Executive Director, Policy Branch
Tom Schwartz, Director, Financial Programs
Cam Swan, General Manager, Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation
Maury Harvey, Manager, Business Risk Management

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Agriculture.
- 4. The committee recessed from 4:51 p.m. until 6:59 p.m.
- 5. The committee considered Estimates for the Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure.

The following Highways and Infrastructure Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Hon. Wayne Elhard, Minister Ted Stobbs, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services Terry Schmidt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Operations George Stamatinos, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy and Programs Jennifer Ehrmantraut, Acting Director, Corporate Support 6. The committee concluded its consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure. On motion of Ms. Wilson:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2010 the following sums:

For Highways and Infrastructure ......\$347,578,000

7. On motion of Mr. Michelson:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2010, the following sums, which to the extent that they remain unexpended for that fiscal year are also granted for the fiscal year ending on March 31, 2011:

For Highways and Infrastructure Capital ......\$282,304,000

8. On motion of Mr. Harrison:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2010 the following sums:

## **Lending and Investing Activities**

For Highways and Infrastructure ......\$1,052,000

- 9. The committee recessed from 9:00 p.m. until 9:06 p.m.
- 10. The following document was tabled:

**ECO 9/26 - Ministry of Environment:** "Questions from March 31 Estimates Discussion" re: the Dillon Vermette area, the Great Sand Hills project, and land near Diefenbaker Lake, dated April 9, 2009.

11. The committee considered Estimates for the Ministry of Environment.

The following Environment Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Hon. Nancy Heppner, Minister

Liz Quarshie, Deputy Minister

Bob Wynes, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Lands and Forests Division

Kevin Callele, Executive Director, Compliance and Field Services

Lin Gallagher, Executive Director, Environmental Protection

Kim Graybiel, Director, Corporate Policy and Planning

Donna Johnson, Director, Finance and Administration

Nancy Cherney, Director, Lands Branch

Randy Seguin, Director, Environmental Assessment Branch

Daryl Jessop, Manager, Science and Planning, Fire Management and Forest Protection

Alan Parkinson, President, Saskatchewan Watershed Authority

Bob Carles, Vice President, Stewardship Division, Saskatchewan Watershed Authority

Wayne Dybvig, Vice President, Operations Division, Saskatchewan Watershed Authority

<ul><li>12. The committee concluded its consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Environment. Or motion of Ms. Wilson:</li><li>Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2010 th following sums:</li></ul>	
13. It was moved by Mr. Harrison:	
That this committee do now adjourn.	
The question being put, it was agreed to.	
14. The committee adjourned at 10:28 p.m. to the call of the Chair.	
Kathy Burianyk Committee Clerk	D. F. (Yogi) Huyghebaert Committee Chair

3