# STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Tuesday, April 7, 2009

# MINUTE NO. 17 3:00 p.m. - Room 8

1. **Present**: D.F. (Yogi) Huyghebaert in the Chair and Members Doreen Eagles\*, Darcy Furber, Ron Harper, Jeremy Harrison, Warren Michelson, Laura Ross and Nadine Wilson.

# **Substituting Members**

Doreen Eagles for Nadine Wilson (7:30 p.m. – 10:00 p.m. only)

# **Other Members**

Andy Iwanchuk, Sandra Morin, Len Taylor, Doyle Vermette

2. The following document was tabled:

**ECO 8/26 - Ministry of Energy and Resources:** Responses to questions raised at the April 10, 2008 meeting re: the forestry industry, dated March 25, 2009.

3. The committee considered Estimates for the Ministry of Energy and Resources.

The following Energy and Resources Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Hon. Bill Boyd, Minister

Kent Campbell, Deputy Minister

Bob Ruggles, Associate Deputy Minister, Forestry Development

Ed Dancsok, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Petroleum and Natural Gas

Hal Sanders, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate and Financial Services and Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Resource and Energy Policy

George Patterson, Executive Director, Exploration and Geological Services

- 4. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Energy and Resources.
- 5. The committee recessed from 5:01 p.m. until 6:59 p.m.
- 6. The committee considered Estimates for the Saskatchewan Research Council.

The following Saskatchewan Research Council Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

# Witnesses

Hon. Lyle Stewart, Minister

Dr. Laurier Schramm, President and Chief Executive Officer

Crystal Smudy, Chief Financial Officer and Vice-President, Finance Safety and Risk

- 7. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Saskatchewan Research Council.
- 8. The committee recessed from 7:32 p.m. until 7:35 p.m.

9. The committee considered Estimates for the Ministry of Enterprise and Innovation.

The following Enterprise and Innovation Minister and Enterprise Saskatchewan officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

### Witnesses

Hon. Lyle Stewart, Minister

Dale Botting, Chief Executive Officer

Denise Haas, Chief Financial Officer

Gerry Offet, Chief Operating Officer

Tony Baumgartner, Vice President, Sector Development and Innovation

Angela Schmidt, Vice President, Competiveness and Strategy

Ernest Heapy, Acting Vice President, Regional Enterprise

Andrea Terry Munro, Controller/Director, Corporate Services

- 10. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Enterprise and Innovation.
- 11. The committee recessed from 9:31 p.m. until 9:35 p.m.
- 12. The committee considered Bill No. 46 The Labour Market Commission Amendment Act, 2008.

The following Enterprise and Innovation Minister and Enterprise Saskatchewan officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

# Witnesses

Hon. Lyle Stewart, Minister

Dale Botting, Chief Executive Officer

Gerry Offet, Chief Operating Officer

Angela Schmidt, Vice President, Competiveness and Strategy

- 13. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 7, they were agreed to.
- 14. It was moved by Mr. Michelson:

That the committee report Bill No. 46 – The Labour Market Commission Amendment Act, 2008 – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

15. It was moved by Mr. Harrison:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

16. The committee adjourned at 10:07 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Kathy Burianyk	D. F. (Yogi) Huyghebaert
Committee Clerk	Committee Chair