STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Tuesday, April 5, 2011

MINUTE NO. 36 2:45 p.m. – Room 8

1. **Present**: Lyle Stewart in the Chair and Members Doreen Eagles*, Wayne Elhard*, Nancy Heppner, Warren Michelson*, Sandra Morin, John Nilson*, Len Taylor, Nadine Wilson, Trent Wotherspoon* and Gordon Wyant*.

Substituting Members

Wayne Elhard for Hon. Darryl Hickie

Gordon Wyant for Rod Gantefoer (for consideration of Estimates for Energy and Resources)

Trent Wotherspoon for Sandra Morin (from 3:30 p.m. – 4:15 p.m. only)

Doreen Eagles for Nadine Wilson (from 7:00 p.m. – 8:15 p.m. only)

Warren Michelson for Rod Gantefoer (for consideration of Estimates for Environment)

John Nilson for Len Taylor (for consideration of Estimates for Environment)

Other Members

Darcy Furber, David Forbes

2. The Chair presided over the election of a Deputy Chair. Mr. Taylor was nominated for the position. There being no further nominations, it was moved by Ms. Morin:

That Mr. Taylor be elected to preside as Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on the Economy.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

3. The following document was tabled:

ECO 27/26 – Ministry of Agriculture: Responses to questions raised at the May 13, 2010 meeting of the committee re: the Federal Government's Realized Net Farm Income actuals and projections as well as the Farm Stress Line hours of operation, dated October 26, 2010.

4. The Chair advised the committee that, pursuant to Rule 146(1), the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the following ministries and agencies were deemed referred to the committee on March 31, 2011:

Vote 1	Agriculture
Vote 23	Energy and Resources
Vote 43,144	Enterprise and Innovation Programs
Vote 83	Enterprise Saskatchewan
Vote 26	Environment
Vote 16	Highways and Infrastructure
Vote 17	Highways and Infrastructure Capital
Vote 84	Innovation Saskatchewan
Vote 35	Saskatchewan Research Council

5. The committee considered the Estimates for the Ministry of Energy and Resources.

The following Energy and Resources Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Bill Boyd, Minister

Kent Campbell, Deputy Minister

Ed Dancsok, Assistant Deputy Minister, Petroleum and Natural Gas

Twyla MacDougall, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate and Financial Services

Hal Sanders, Assistant Deputy Minister, Minerals, Lands and Policy

- 6. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Energy and Resources.
- 7. The committee recessed from 5:00 p.m. until 7:00 p.m.
- 8. The committee considered the Estimates for the Ministry of Environment.

The following Environment Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Dustin Duncan, Minister

Liz Quarshie, Deputy Minister

Donna Johnson, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Support Division

Kevin Murphy, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Resource Management and Compliance Division

Sam Ferris, Executive Director, Municipal Branch

Bob Wynes, Executive Director, Forest Service Branch

Kristen Fry, Acting Executive Director, Finance and Administration

Jennifer McKillop, Director, Aboriginal Affairs

Kevin McCullum, Chief Engineer, Technical Resources Branch

Wayne Dybvig, President, Saskatchewan Watershed Authority

Bob Carles, Vice President, Corporate Services, Saskatchewan Watershed Authority

- 9. The committee recessed from 8:47 p.m. until 8:55 p.m.
- 10. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Environment.
- 11. It was moved by Mr. Michelson:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

12. The committee adjourned at 10:30 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Nathan Elliott	Lyle Stewart	
Committee Clerk	Committee Chair	