# STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Tuesday, April 29, 2008

# MINUTE NO. 8 3:02 p.m. - Room 8

1. **Present**: D. F. (Yogi) Huyghebaert in the Chair and Members Darcy Furber, Ron Harper, Jeremy Harrison, Warren Michelson, Laura Ross, and Nadine Wilson.

## **Other Members**

Pat Atkinson, David Forbes, Sandra Morin, Frank Quennell, Len Taylor, Trent Wotherspoon

2. The committee considered Estimates for the Ministry of Energy and Resources.

The following Energy and Resources Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Hon. Bill Boyd, Minister
Glen Veikle, Acting Deputy Minister
Trevor Dark, Assistant Deputy Minister, Petroleum and Natural Gas
Kent Campbell, Chief Executive Officer, Forestry Development
George Patterson, Executive Director, Exploration and Geological Services
Hal Sanders, Executive Director, Corporate and Financial Services

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Energy and Resources.
- 4. The committee considered Bill No. 3 The Potash Development Repeal Act.

The following Energy and Resources Minister and official appeared before the committee and answered questions:

## Witnesses

Hon. Bill Boyd, Minister Glen Veikle, Acting Deputy Minister

- 5. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 3, they were agreed to.
- 6. It was moved by Ms. Ross:

That the committee report Bill No. 3 – The Potash Development Repeal Act – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

7. The committee considered Bill No. 19 – The Social Workers Amendment Act, 2008.

The following Social Services Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

### <u>Witnesses</u>

Hon. Donna Harpauer, Minister

Duncan Fisher, Deputy Minister

Karen Bright, Executive Director, Human Resources Division (PSC)

- 8. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 7, they were agreed to.
- 9. It was moved by Ms. Wilson:

That the committee report Bill No. 19 – The Social Workers Amendment Act, 2008 – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

- 10. The committee recessed from 4:58 p.m. until 5:58 p.m.
- 11. The committee considered Estimates for the Ministry of Enterprise and Innovation.

The following Enterprise and Innovation Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Hon. Lyle Stewart, Minister

Dale Botting, Deputy Minister

Denise Haas, Associate Deputy Minister

Roger Israel, Executive Director, Regional Programs and Services

Dion McGrath, Executive Director, Policy and Planning

Marilyn Day, Director, Investment Programs

Jacki Litke, Acting Director, Marketing

Laverne Moskal, Director, Sustainable Development Branch

Andrea Terry Munro, Director, Corporate Services

Bryon Burnett, Senior Consultant, Industry Development

12. The following document was tabled:

**ECO 3/26 Ministry of Enterprise and Innovation:** Written submission entitled "Committee of Finance [*sic*] Questions and Answers."

- 13. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Enterprise and Innovation.
- 14. The committee recessed from 6:56 p.m. until 7:00 p.m.
- 15. The committee considered Estimates for the Saskatchewan Research Council.

The following Saskatchewan Research Council Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Hon. Lyle Stewart, Minister

Dr. Laurier Schramm, President and CEO

Crystal Smudy, Vice-President, Finance, Safety and Risk Division, Chief Financial Officer

- 16. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Saskatchewan Research Council.
- 17. The committee considered Bill No. 2 The Enterprise Saskatchewan Act.

The following Enterprise and Innovation Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

### Witnesses

Hon. Lyle Stewart, Minister

Dale Botting, Deputy Minister

- 18. The committee adjourned consideration of Bill No. 2 The Enterprise Saskatchewan Act.
- 19. The committee recessed from 8:26 p.m. until 8:31 p.m.
- 20. The committee considered Bill No. 21 The Teachers' Superannuation and Disability Benefits Amendment Act, 2008

The following Education Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Hon. Ken Krawetz, Minister

Audrey Roadhouse, Deputy Minister

Shirley Robertson, Acting Executive Director, Teachers' Superannuation Commission

Drew Johnston, Manager, Legislative Services and Privacy

- 21. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 8, they were agreed to.
- 22. It was moved by Mr. Michelson:

That the committee report Bill No. 21 – The Teachers' Superannuation and Disability Benefits Amendment Act, 2008, – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

- 23. The committee recessed from 8:39 p.m. until 8:42 p.m.
- 24. The committee considered Bill No. 22 The Irrigation Amendment Act, 2008.

The following Agriculture Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Hon. Bob Bjornerud, Minister Alanna Koch, Deputy Minister John Babcock, Director, Irrigation Branch

- 25. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 4, they were agreed to.
- 26. It was moved by Ms. Ross:

That the committee report Bill No. 22 – The Irrigation Amendment Act, 2008 – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

27. The committee considered Bill No. 8 – The Natural Resources Amendment Act, 2008.

The following Environment Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Hon. Nancy Heppner, Minister Liz Quarshie, Deputy Minister Donna Johnson, Executive Director, Finance and Administration Rob Spelliscy, Director, Financial Management Section

- 28. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 5, they were agreed to.
- 29. It was moved by Mr. Harrison:

That the committee report Bill No. 8 – The Natural Resources Amendment Act, 2008 – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

30. It was moved by Mr. Michelson:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

31. The committee adjourned at 8:58 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Viktor Kaczkowski

Committee Clerk

D. F. (Yogi) Huyghebaert

Committee Chair