STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Tuesday, April 16, 2024

MINUTE NO. 31

3:30 p.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Colleen Young in the chair and members Noor Burki,* Jared Clarke,* Ken Francis, Daryl Harrison,* Betty Nippi-Albright,* Greg Ottenbreit, Doug Steele, and Aleana Young.

Substituting Members

Noor Burki for Jennifer Bowes (3:30 p.m. – 5:29 p.m.)

Noor Burki for Aleana Young (6:30 p.m. – 9:29 p.m.)

Jared Clarke for Aleana Young (3:30 p.m. – 3:35 p.m.)

Daryl Harrison for Delbert Kirsch

Betty Nippi-Albright for Jennifer Bowes (6:30 p.m. – 9:29 p.m.)

2. The committee considered the estimates for the Ministry of Trade and Export Development.

The Minister of Trade and Export Development and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Jeremy Harrison, Minister

Jodi Banks, Deputy Minister

Kevin France, Assistant Deputy Minister, International Engagement

Lindsay Freistadt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy and Competitiveness

Tyler Lynch, Assistant Deputy Minister, Economic Development

Matt Smith, Executive Director, Indigenous Economic Development

Rob Swallow, Executive Director, Corporate Services

Jay Teneycke, Executive Director, Marketing and Communications

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for the Ministry of Trade and Export Development.
- 4. The committee recessed from 5:29 p.m. until 6:30 p.m.
- 5. The committee considered the estimates for Innovation Saskatchewan.

The Minister Responsible for Innovation Saskatchewan and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Jeremy Harrison, Minister

Kari Harvey, Chief Executive Officer

Kelley Moore, Vice-President, Research and Technology Park Operations

Brent Sukenik, Vice-President, Corporate Strategy and Services

Avery Vold, Vice-President, Economic Development and Research Investments

Rebecca Sengmany, Executive Director, Finance and Special Projects

Dani Wawryk, Executive Director, Communications and Marketing

6. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for Innovation Saskatchewan.

- 7. The committee recessed from 7:27 p.m. until 7:31 p.m.
- 8. The committee considered the estimates for the Ministry of Immigration and Career Training.

The Minister of Immigration and Career Training and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Jeremy Harrison, Minister
Richelle Bourgoin, Deputy Minister
Christa Ross, Assistant Deputy Minister
Darcy Smycniuk, Assistant Deputy Minister, Training and Employer Services
Jennifer Clark, Executive Director, Skills Training
Anne McRorie, Executive Director, Policy
Reegan Obst, Executive Director, Corporate Services
Jamie Richards, Executive Director, Communications
Monica Chu, Senior Advisor

- 9. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for the Ministry of Immigration and Career Training.
- 10. It was moved by Mr. Ottenbreit:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

11. The committee adjourned at 9:29 p.m. until Wednesday, April 17, 2024 at 3:30 p.m.

Miranda Gudereit		Colleen Young
Committee Clerk		Chair
	2	