STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Monday, April 17, 2023

MINUTE NO. 23

3:29 p.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Colleen Young in the chair and members Ryan Domotor, Ken Francis, Delbert Kirsch, Hugh Nerlien,* Alana Ross, Doug Steele, and Trent Wotherspoon.*

Substituting Members

Hugh Nerlien for Doug Steele (3:29 p.m. – 5:33 p.m.) Trent Wotherspoon for Jennifer Bowes

2. The following document was tabled:

Ministry of Energy and Resources: Responses to questions raised at the March 13, 2023 meeting (ECO 15-29)

3. The committee considered the estimates for the Ministry of Highways.

The Minister of Highways and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Jeremy Cockrill, Minister

Blair Wagar, Deputy Minister

Ryan Cossitt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Planning, Policy, and Regulation

Wayne Gienow, Assistant Deputy Minister, Design and Construction

Tom Lees, Assistant Deputy Minister, Operation and Maintenance

David Munro, Director Strategic Planning and Budgeting, Corporate Services

- 4. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for the Ministry of Highways.
- 5. The committee recessed from 5:39 p.m. until 5:54 p.m.
- 6. The committee considered the estimates for the Ministry of Agriculture.

The Minister of Agriculture and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Agriculture

Hon. David Marit, Minister

Rick Burton, Deputy Minister

Lee Auten, Assistant Deputy Minister, Programs

Paul Johnson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy

Penny McCall, Assistant Deputy Minister, Regulatory and Innovation

Rob Pentland, Acting Executive Director, Corporate Services

Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation

Jeff Morrow, Acting President and Chief Executive Officer

Christine Virostek, Executive Director, Accounting

Waren Ames, Acting Executive Director, Insurance Mac Cruickshank, Acting Executive Director, Research and Development

- 7. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for the Ministry of Agriculture.
- 8. The committee considered Bill No. 116, *The Plant Health Act*.

The Minister of Agriculture and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions.

Witnesses

Hon. David Marit, Minister Rick Burton, Deputy Minister Penny McCall, Assistant Deputy Minister, Regulatory and Innovation Faye Dokken, Director, Production Technology

- 9. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 39, they were agreed to.
- 10. It was moved by Mr. Domotor:

That the committee report Bill No. 116, *The Plant Health Act* without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

11. It was moved by Mr. Francis:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

12. The committee adjourned at 9:18 p.m. until Wednesday, April 19, 2023 at 3:30 p.m.

Danielle Humble-Selinger	Colleen Young	
Committee Clerk	Chair	