STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Monday, April 3, 2023

MINUTE NO. 22 3:30 p.m. — Legislative Chamber

Present: Colleen Young in the chair and members Ryan Domotor, Ken Francis, Todd Goudy,* Delbert Kirsch, Betty Nippi-Albright,* Erika Ritchie,* Alana Ross, and Doug Steele.

Substituting Members

Todd Goudy for Ken Francis (3:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.) Betty Nippi-Albright for Jennifer Bowes (5:50 p.m. – 7:48 p.m.) Erika Ritchie for Jennifer Bowes (3:30 p.m. – 5:33 p.m.)

1. The Chair advised the committee that pursuant to rule 148(1), the 2023–24 estimates were committed to the committee on March 30, 2023:

2023-24 Estimates

Vote 01	Agriculture
Vote 23	Energy and Resources
Vote 26	Environment
Vote 16	Highways
Vote 89	Immigration and Career Training
Vote 84	Innovation Saskatchewan
Vote 35	Saskatchewan Research Council
Vote 90	Trade and Export Development
Vote 87	Water Security Agency

2. The committee considered the estimates for Water Security Agency.

The Minister Responsible for Water Security Agency and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses Hon. Jeremy Cockrill, Minister Shawn Jaques, Interim President and Chief Executive Officer David Cooper, Vice-President, Agriculture Services and Economic Development John Fahlman, Vice-President, Infrastructure Mark Kleefeld, Vice-President, Finance Thon Phommavong, Vice-President, Science and Licensing Leah Clark, Executive Director, Agriculture Water Management Ali'i Lafontaine, General Counsel, Legal Services

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for the Water Security Agency.
- 4. The committee recessed from 5:33 p.m. until 5:50 p.m.
- 5. The committee considered the estimates for Innovation Saskatchewan.

The Minister Responsible for Innovation Saskatchewan and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Jeremy Harrison, Minister Kari Harvey, Chief Executive Officer Brent Sukenik, Chief Financial Officer and Vice-President, Corporate Strategy and Services Avery Vold, Vice-President, Economic Development and Research Investments Debbie Haluik, Vice-President, Research Park Operations

- 6. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for Innovation Saskatchewan.
- 7. It was moved by Mr. Francis:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

8. The committee adjourned at 7:48 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Anne Drake Committee Clerk Colleen Young Chair