# STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Monday, April 4, 2022

# MINUTE NO. 12 3:15 p.m. — Legislative Chamber

1. **Present**: Colleen Young in the chair and members Ken Francis, Darryl Harrison,\* Terry Jenson,\* Travis Keisig,\* Greg Lawrence,\* Doug Steele, and Aleana Young.

## **Substituting Members**

Darryl Harrison for Jim Lemaigre (6:01 p.m. – 9:26 p.m.)

Terry Jenson for Jeremy Cockrill

Travis Keisig for Doug Steele (6:01 p.m. – 9:26 p.m.)

Greg Lawrence for Jim Lemaigre (3:15 p.m. -5:16 p.m.)

2. The Chair advised the committee that pursuant to rule 148(1), the 2022–23 estimates were committed to the committee on March 31, 2022:

Vote 01	Agriculture
Vote 23	Energy and Resources
Vote 26	Environment
Vote 16	Highways
Vote 89	Immigration and Career Training
Vote 84	Innovation Saskatchewan
Vote 35	Saskatchewan Research Council
Vote 90	Trade and Export Development
Vote 87	Water Security Agency

3. The committee considered the estimates for the Ministry of Immigration and Career Training.

The Minister of Immigration and Career Training and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

### Witnesses

Ministry of Immigration and Career Training

Hon. Jeremy Harrison, Minister

Clint Repski, Deputy Minister

Grant Hilsenteger, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services

Christa Ross, Assistant Deputy Minister, Immigration and Career Services

Darcy Smycniuk, Assistant Deputy Minister, Training and Employer Services

Neil Cooke, Director, Financial Compliance

Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission

Jeff Ritter, Chief Executive Officer

- 4. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for the Ministry of Immigration and Career Training.
- 5. The committee recessed from 5:16 p.m. until 6:01 p.m.
- 6. The committee considered the estimates for Innovation Saskatchewan.

The Minister Responsible for Innovation Saskatchewan and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

### Witnesses

Innovation Saskatchewan

Hon. Jeremy Harrison, Minister
Rebecca Gibbons, Executive Director, Operations
Avery Vold, Director, Corporate Strategy
Saskatchewan Opportunities Corporation
Brent Sukenik, Acting Chief Executive Officer

- 7. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for Innovation Saskatchewan.
- 8. The committee recessed from 6:41 p.m. until 6:48 p.m.
- 9. The committee considered the estimates for the Ministry of Trade and Export Development.

The Minister of Trade and Export Development and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Hon. Jeremy Harrison, Minister

Jodi Banks, Deputy Minister

Richelle Bourgoin, Assistant Deputy Minister, International Engagement

Kevin France, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy and Competitiveness

Grant Hilsenteger, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services

Renata Bereziuk, Executive Director, International Relations

Kareen Holtby, Executive Director, Strategic Policy and Planning

Sara Nicholls, Executive Director, International Offices

Rob Swallow, Executive Director, Trade Policy

Robin Speer, Acting Executive Director, Marketing and Communications

Corrine Fuchs, Director, Financial Planning and Operations

Matt Smith, Director, Indigenous Development

- 10. The committee recessed from 8:03 p.m. until 8:13 p.m.
- 11. The committee resumed consideration of the estimates for the Ministry of Trade and Export Development.
- 12. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for the Ministry of Trade and Export Development.
- 13. It was moved by Mr. Francis:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

4. The committee adjourned at 9:26 p.m. until Tuesday, April 5, 2022 at 7:00 p.m.		
Rob Park Committee Clerk	Colleen Young Chair	