### STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Tuesday, November 30, 2021

# MINUTE NO. 10

5:05 p.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Colleen Young in the chair and members David Buckingham,\* Jeremy Cockrill, Terry Dennis,\* Ken Francis, Terry Jenson, Delbert Kirsch, Dana Skoropad,\* Trent Wotherspoon,\* and Aleana Young.

## **Substituting Members**

David Buckingham for Ken Francis (5:05 p.m. – 5:40 p.m.)

Terry Dennis for Doug Steele

Dana Skoropad for Jeremy Cockrill (5:05 p.m. – 5:40 p.m.)

Trent Wotherspoon for Aleana Young (5:33 p.m. – 6:23 p.m.)

2. The Chair presided over the election of a Deputy Speaker. The Chair informed the committee that Ms. Young (Regina University) was the only opposition member on the committee and, pursuant to rule 123(2), was the only member eligible to preside as Deputy Chair. It was moved by Mr. Dennis:

That Aleana Young be elected to preside as Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on the Economy.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

3. The Chair advised that pursuant to rule 148(1), the supplementary estimates no. 1 for the following ministries were committed to the committee on November 30, 2021:

Vote 1 Agriculture

Vote 90 Trade and Export Development

4. The following documents were tabled:

Ministry of Agriculture: Responses to questions raised at the April 16, 2021 meeting

(ECO 4-29)

Water Security Agency: Responses to questions raised at the April 29, 2021 meeting

(ECO 5-29)

Ministry of Highways: Responses to questions raised at the April 23, 2021 meeting

(ECO 6-29)

Ministry of Environment: Responses to questions raised at the April 28, 2021 meeting

(ECO 7-29)

5. The committee considered the supplementary estimates no. 1 for the Ministry of Trade and Export Development.

The Minister of Trade and Export Development and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Ministry of Trade and Export Development

Hon. Jeremy Harrison, Minister

Jodi Banks, Deputy Minister

Ministry of Immigration and Career Training

Grant Hilsenteger, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services

SaskPower

Troy King, Chief Financial Officer

Cole Goertz, Manager, Government Relations, Media and Issues Management

6. The committee concluded consideration of the supplementary estimates no. 1 for the Ministry of Trade and Export Development. On motion of Mr. Buckingham:

Resolved, that there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2022 the following sum:

- 7. The committee recessed from 5:20 p.m. until 5:33 p.m.
- 8. The committee considered the supplementary estimates no. 1 for the Ministry of Agriculture.

The Minister of Agriculture and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Ministry of Agriculture

Hon. David Marit, Minister

Rick Burton, Deputy Minister

Lee Auten, Assistant Deputy Minister, Programs

Penny McCall, Assistant Deputy Minister, Regulatory and Innovation

Paul Johnson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy

Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation

Jeff Morrow, Acting President and Chief Executive Officer

9. The committee concluded consideration of the supplementary estimates no. 1 for the Ministry of Agriculture. On motion of Mr. Francis:

Resolved, that there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2022 the following sum:

10. It was moved by Mr. Jenson:

That the second report of the Standing Committee on the Economy be adopted and presented to the Assembly.

1. It was moved by Mr. Cockrill:	
That this committee do now adjourn.	
The question being put, it was agreed to.	
2. The committee adjourned at 6:23 p.m. to the call of the Chair.	
Danielle Humble-Selinger Committee Clerk	Colleen Young Chair

The question being put, it was agreed to.