STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Tuesday, April 14, 2015

MINUTE NO. 29 3:00 p.m. – Māmawapiwin Room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Gene Makowsky in the Chair and Members Buckley Belanger*, Larry Doke, Glen Hart*, Bill Hutchinson, Victoria Jurgens, Cathy Sproule* and Don Toth.

Substituting Members

Buckley Belanger for Trent Wotherspoon (3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. only) Glen Hart for Delbert Kirsch (7:00 p.m. to 10:36 p.m. only) Cathy Sproule for Trent Wotherspoon (7:00 p.m. – 10:36 p.m. only)

2. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates (March) for the Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure.

The following Highways and Infrastructure Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Nancy Heppner, Minister
Nithi Govindasamy, Deputy Minister
Jennifer Ehrmantraut, Associate Deputy Minister, Operations Division
Ron Gerbrandt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Design and Innovation Division
Blair Wagar, Assistant Deputy Minister, Planning and Policy Division
Wayne Gienow, Executive Director, Corporate Services Division
Gary Diebel, Director, Financial Services Branch

3. The following document was tabled:

ECO 16/27 - Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure: Responses to questions raised at the April 1, 2015 meeting of the committee re: contracting, consulting firms, tender plans, Sucker River Bridge and maintenance contracts.

- 4. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates (March) for the Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure.
- 5. The committee recessed from 5:00 p.m. until 7:00 p.m.
- 6. The committee considered the Estimates for the Ministry of Agriculture.

The following Agriculture Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Agriculture Hon. Lyle Stewart, Minister Alanna Koch, Deputy Minister Karen Aulie, Assistant Deputy Minister, Programs Rick Burton, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy Ray Arscott, Executive Director, Corporate Services Branch Wally Hoehn, Executive Director, Lands Branch Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation Shawn Jaques, President and Chief Executive Officer Jenie Kuntz, Vice-President, Finance Jeff Morrow, Vice-President, Operations

- 7. The committee recessed from 9:04 p.m. until 9:10 p.m.
- 8. The committee resumed consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Agriculture.
- 9. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Agriculture.
- 10. The committee adjourned at 10:36 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Stacey Ursulescu	Gene Makowsky
Committee Clerk	Committee Chair