STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Tuesday, March 31, 2015

MINUTE NO. 27 4:49 p.m. – Māmawapiwin Room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Gene Makowsky in the Chair and Members Buckley Belanger*, Larry Doke, Bill Hutchinson, Victoria Jurgens, Delbert Kirsch, Cathy Sproule* and Don Toth.

Substituting Members

Buckley Belanger for Trent Wotherspoon (4:49 p.m. – 5:53 p.m. only) Cathy Sproule for Trent Wotherspoon (7:00 p.m. – 11:01 p.m. only)

Other Members

Cam Broten

2. The following documents were tabled:

ECO 14/27 - **Ministry of the Economy:** Responses to questions raised at the April 14, 2014 meeting of the committee re: Ministerial Travel Expenses report and Travel Activity report, dated September 3, 2014.

ECO 15/27 - Ministry of Agriculture: Responses to questions raised at the April 16, 2014 and April 29, 2014 meetings of the committee re: estimated number of seasonal foreign workers, Farm Land Security Board's 2012-13 annual report and Growing Forward Agreement, dated September 17, 2014.

3. The Chair advised the committee that, pursuant to Rule 148(1), the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates (March) for the following ministries and agencies were deemed referred to the committee on March 26, 2015 and March 18, 2015, respectively:

Vote 1	Agriculture
Vote 23, 174	Economy
Vote 26	Environment
Vote 16	Highways and Infrastructure
Vote 84	Innovation Saskatchewan
Vote 35	Saskatchewan Research Council
Vote 86	SaskBuilds Corporation
Vote 87	Water Security Agency

4. The committee considered the Estimates for the Water Security Agency.

The following Water Security Agency Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Scott Moe, Minister Wayne Dybvig, President

Susan Ross, Vice President, Legal, Regulatory and Aboriginal Affairs

Sam Ferris, Executive Director, Environmental and Municipal Management Services

Dale Hjertaas, Executive Director, Policy and Communications

Irene Hrynkiw, Executive Director, Corporate Services

- 5. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Water Security Agency.
- 6. The committee recessed from 5:53 p.m. until 7:00 p.m.
- 7. The committee considered the Estimates for the Ministry of Environment.

The following Environment Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Scott Moe. Minister

Cam Swan, Deputy Minister

Kevin Murphy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Resource Management and Compliance

Erika Ritchie, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Protection and Audit Division

Lori Uhersky, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Support

Wes Kotyk, Executive Director, Environmental Protection

Thon Phommavong, Executive Director, RBR and Code Management

Steve Roberts, Executive Director, Wildfire Management Branch

Lyle Saigeon, Executive Director, Fish and Wildlife

Laurel Welsh, Executive Director, Finance and Administration Branch

David Stevenson, Acting Executive Director, Forest Services Branch

Scott Pittendrigh, Director, Climate Change

Brady Pollock, Acting Director, Environmental Assessment

- 8. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of the Environment.
- 9. The committee adjourned at 11:01 p.m. until April 1, 2015 at 3:00 p.m.

Stacey Ursulescu	Gene Makowsky
Committee Clerk	Committee Chair