STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Tuesday, April 29, 2014

MINUTE NO. 23 2:58 p.m. – Māmawapiwin Room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Don Toth in the Chair and Members Buckley Belanger*, Fred Bradshaw, Larry Doke, Bill Hutchinson, Victoria Jurgens, Warren McCall*, Scott Moe*, John Nilson*, Cathy Sproule* and Trent Wotherspoon.

Substituting Members

Buckley Belanger for Trent Wotherspoon (8:05 p.m. – 8:37 p.m.) Warren McCall for Trent Wotherspoon (7:00 p.m. – 8:01 p.m. only) Scott Moe for Jennifer Campeau John Nilson for Trent Wotherspoon (4:03 p.m. – 4:38 p.m. only) Cathy Sproule for Trent Wotherspoon (2:58 p.m. – 4:01 p.m. only)

2. The committee considered the Estimates for the Ministry of Agriculture.

The following Agriculture Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Agriculture Hon. Lyle Stewart, Minister Alanna Koch, Deputy Minister Karen Aulie, Assistant Deputy Minister, Programs Rick Burton, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy Ray Arscott, Executive Director, Corporate Services Branch Scott Brown, Executive Director, Policy Branch Wally Hoehn, Executive Director, Lands Branch Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation Shawn Jaques, President and Chief Executive Officer Jeff Morrow, Vice-President, Operations

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Agriculture.
- 4. The committee recessed from 4:01 p.m. until 4:03 p.m.
- 5. The committee considered Bill No. 136 The Oil and Gas Conservation Amendment Act, 2014.

The following Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Tim McMillan, Minister Responsible for Energy and Resources Kent Campbell, Deputy Minister Ed Dancsok, Assistant Deputy Minister, Petroleum and Natural Gas Division Laurie Pushor, Assistant Deputy Minister, Performance and Strategic Initiatives

6. The following document was tabled:

ECO 10/27 – Ministry of the Economy: Table 3 – Levy Classes and Base Fees.

- 7. The questions being put on Clauses 1 to 19, they were agreed to.
- 8. It was moved by Mr. Bradshaw:

That the committee report Bill No. 136 - The Oil and Gas Conservation Amendment Act, 2014 - without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

- 9. The committee recessed from 4:38 p.m. until 7:00 p.m.
- 10. The committee considered the Estimates for Innovation Saskatchewan.

The following Innovation Saskatchewan Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Bill Boyd, Minister Jerome Konecsni, Chief Executive Officer David Grier, Chief Strategist David Katz, Chief Science and Policy Officer

- 11. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for Innovation Saskatchewan.
- 12. The committee recessed from 8:01 p.m. until 8:05 p.m.
- 13. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure.

The following Highways and Infrastructure Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Don McMorris, Minister Nithi Govindasamy, Deputy Minister Jennifer Ehrmantraut, Associate Deputy Minister, Operations Division Ron Gerbrandt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Design and Innovation Division Blair Wagar, Assistant Deputy Minister, Planning and Policy Division Wayne Gienow, Executive Director, Corporate Services Division Doug Hansen, Executive Director, Operations Division, Northern Region Gary Diebel, Director, Financial Services Branch

- 14. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure.
- 15. The committee recessed from 8:37 p.m. until 8:42 p.m.

16. The committee considered the Estimates for SaskBuilds Corporation.

The following SaskBuilds Corporation Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Don McMorris, Minister Rupen Pandya, President and Chief Executive Officer Teresa Florizone, Chief Financial Officer Kyle Toffan, Executive Director, Capital Planning and Infrastructure

17. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for SaskBuilds Corporation.

18. The committee adjourned at 10:42 p.m. until Wednesday, April 30, 2014 at 3:00 p.m.

Stacey Ursulescu Committee Clerk Don Toth Committee Chair