# STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Monday, March 31, 2014

# MINUTE NO. 19 7:00 p.m. – Māmawapiwin Room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Don Toth in the Chair and Members Fred Bradshaw, Larry Doke, Cathy Sproule\* and Victoria Jurgens.

## Substituting Members

Cathy Sproule for Trent Wotherspoon

# **Other Members**

**Buckley Belanger** 

- 2. The Chair advised the committee that, pursuant to Rule 148(1), the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the following ministries and agencies were deemed referred to the committee on March 27, 2014 and March 19, 2014, respectively:
  - Vote 1 Agriculture Vote 23, 174 Economy Environment Vote 26 Vote 16 Highways and Infrastructure Vote 17 Highways and Infrastructure Capital Vote 84 Innovation Saskatchewan Vote 35 Saskatchewan Research Council Vote 86 SaskBuilds Corporation Vote 87 Water Security Agency
- 3. The following document was tabled:

**ECO 9/27** - **Ministry of Environment:** Responses to questions raised at the March 11, 2014 meeting of the committee re: Bill No 107 – The Wildfire Act, dated March 31, 2014.

4. The committee considered the Estimates for the Ministry of Environment.

The following Environment Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

# Witnesses

Hon. Ken Cheveldayoff, Minister Cam Swan, Deputy Minister Kevin Murphy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Resource Management and Compliance Erika Ritchie, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Protection and Audit Division Lori Uhersky, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Support Wes Kotyk, Executive Director, Environmental Protection Jennifer McKillop, Executive Director, Landscape Stewardship Thon Phommavong, Executive Director, RBR and Code Management Steve Roberts, Executive Director, Fish and Wildlife Laurel Welsh, Executive Director, Finance and Administration Bob Wynes, Executive Director, Forest Services Sharla Hordenchuk, Director, Environmental Assessment Ed Dean, Acting Director, Climate Change Chuck Bosgoed, Manager, Technical Resources

- 5. The committee recessed from 9:23 p.m. until 9:30 p.m.
- 6. The committee resumed consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Environment.
- 7. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Environment.
- 8. The committee adjourned at 10:36 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Rob Park Committee Clerk Don Toth Committee Chair