STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Wednesday, May 1, 2013

MINUTE NO. 13 3:00 p.m. – Māmawapiwin Room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Don Toth in the Chair and Members Buckley Belanger*, Fred Bradshaw, Jennifer Campeau, Bill Hutchinson, Victoria Jurgens, Scott Moe* and Cathy Sproule*.

Substituting Members

Buckley Belanger for Danielle Chartier (3:00 p.m. – 3:33 p.m. only) Scott Moe for Larry Doke Cathy Sproule for Danielle Chartier (7:00 p.m. – 11:11 p.m. only)

2. The committee considered Bill No. 61 – The Railway Amendment Act, 2012.

The following Highways and Infrastructure Minister and official appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Don McMorris, Minister Ed Zsombor, Director, Rail Services

- 3. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 3, they were agreed to.
- 4. It was moved by Mr. Bradshaw:

That the committee report Bill No. 61 - The Railway Amendment Act, 2012 - without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

- 5. The committee recessed from 3:33 p.m. until 7:00 p.m.
- 6. The committee considered the Estimates for the Ministry of the Environment.

The following Environment Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Ken Cheveldayoff, Minister

Liz Quarshie, Deputy Minister

Kevin Murphy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Resource Management and Compliance Division

Lori Uhersky, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environment

Mark Wittrup, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Protection and Audit Division

Wes Kotyk, Executive Director, Industrial Branch

Jennifer McKillop, Executive Director, Landscape Stewardship Branch

Steve Roberts, Executive Director, Wildfire Management Branch

Lyle Saigeon, Executive Director, Fish and Wildlife Branch

Laurel Welsh, Executive Director, Finance and Administration Branch

Bob Wynes, Executive Director, Forest Service Branch Kevin McCullum, Chief Engineer, Technical Resources Branch Ed Dean, Acting Manager, Climate Change Branch

- 7. The committee recessed from 9:02 p.m. until 9:09 p.m.
- 8. The committee resumed consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of the Environment.
- 9. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of the Environment.
- 10. It was moved by Mr. Bradshaw:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

11. The committee adjourned at 11:11 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Stacey Ursulescu
Committee Clerk

Don Toth
Committee Chair