# STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Tuesday, April 23, 2013

## MINUTE NO. 9

## 6:58 p.m. – Māmawapiwin Room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Don Toth in the Chair and Members Fred Bradshaw, Jennifer Campeau, Larry Doke, Bill Hutchinson, Victoria Jurgens, Warren McCall\* and Trent Wotherspoon\*.

## **Substituting Members**

Warren McCall for Danielle Chartier (6:58 p.m. – 9:40 p.m. only) Trent Wotherspoon for Danielle Chartier (9:40 p.m. – 11:02 p.m. only)

2. The committee considered the Estimates for the Ministry of the Economy.

The following Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Ministry of the Economy:

Hon. Bill Boyd, Minister of the Economy

Kent Campbell, Deputy Minister

Denise Haas, Chief Financial Officer

Rupen Pandya, Assistant Deputy Minister, Labour Market Development

Tony Baumgartner, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Economic Development

Tim Amendt, Executive Director, Apprenticeship and Workforce Skills

Joanne Johnson, Executive Director, Marketing and Communications

Alastair MacFadden, Executive Director, Labour Market Planning and Systems Support

Giselle Marcotte, Executive Director, First Nations, Métis and Northern Economic Development

Jan Morgan, Executive Director, Labour Market Services

Kirk Westgard, Executive Director, Immigration Services

Garth Herbert, Director of Corporate Services, Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade

**Certification Commission** 

Eric Johansen, Director, Program Integrity Legislation

Kim Krywulak, Manager, Financial Services

Laurie Pushor, Senior Advisor

Global Transportation Hub:

Chris Dekker, Interim President and Chief Executive Officer

Mark Lemmerick, Vice President, Corporate Services

Innovation Saskatchewan:

Jerome Konesci, Chief Executive Officer

David Grier, Chief Strategist

Dave Katz, Chief Policy and Science Officer

Saskatchewan Research Council:

Laurier Schramm, President and Chief Executive Officer

Crystal Nett, Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer

3. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of the Economy.

1.	The committee adjourned at 11:02 p.m. until Wednesday	y, April 24, 2013 at 3:00 p.m.
Sta	cey Ursulescu	Don Toth
Со	mmittee Clerk	Committee Chair