STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Tuesday, April 9, 2013

MINUTE NO. 8 7:00 p.m. – Māmawapiwin Room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Don Toth in the Chair and Members Fred Bradshaw, Jennifer Campeau, Danielle Chartier, Herb Cox*, Larry Doke and Scott Moe*.

Substituting Members

Scott Moe for Bill Hutchinson Herb Cox for Victoria Jurgens

Other Members

Cathy Sproule

2. The Chair advised the committee that, pursuant to Rule 146(1), the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the following ministries and agencies were deemed referred to the committee on March 28, 2013 and March 20, 2013, respectively:

Vote 1	Agriculture
Vote 23, 174	Economy
Vote 26	Environment
Vote 16	Highways and Infrastructure
Vote 17	Highways and Infrastructure Capital
Vote 84	Innovation Saskatchewan
Vote 35	Saskatchewan Research Council
Vote 86	SaskBuilds Corporation
Vote 87	Water Security Agency

3. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Agriculture.

The following Agriculture Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Lyle Stewart, Minister

Alanna Koch, Deputy Minister

Rick Burton, Assistant Deputy Minister

Nithi Govindasamy, Associate Deputy Minister

Ray Arscott, Executive Director, Corporate Services

Doug Billett, Executive Director, Crops and Irrigation Branch

Wally Hoehn, Executive Director, Lands Branch

Tom Schwartz, Executive Director, Financial Programs Branch

Shawn Jaques, President and Chief Executive Officer, Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation

Jeff Morrow, Vice-President, Operations, Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation

4. The committee recessed from 8:46 p.m. until 8:54 p.m.

5.	The committee resumed consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Agriculture.
6.	The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Agriculture.
7.	It was moved by Mr. Doke:
	That this committee do now adjourn.
	The question being put, it was agreed to.
8.	The committee adjourned at 10:13 p.m. to the call of the chair.

Don Toth

Committee Chair

Stacey Ursulescu Committee Clerk