STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Friday, April 27, 2012

MINUTE NO. 4 9:00 a.m. – Māmawapiwin Room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Don Toth in the Chair and Members Buckley Belanger*, Fred Bradshaw, Kevin Doherty, Larry Doke, Nancy Heppner and Victoria Jurgens.

Substituting Members

Buckley Belanger for Danielle Chartier

Other Members

Doyle Vermette, Trent Wotherspoon

2. The committee considered the Estimates, Supplementary Estimates and Supplementary Estimates (Lending and Investing Activities) for the Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure.

The following Highways and Infrastructure Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses Hon. Jim Reiter, Minister Rob Penny, Deputy Minister Jennifer Ehrmantraut, Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministry Services and Standards Division George Stamatinos, Assistant Deputy Minister, Planning and Policy Division Ted Stobbs, Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Services Division David Stearns, Executive Director, Technical Standards Branch Wayne Gienow, Acting Director, Corporate Support Branch David Munro, Budget Management Co-ordinator

- 3. The committee recessed from 9:58 a.m. until 10:06 a.m.
- 4. The committee resumed consideration of the Estimates, Supplementary Estimates and Supplementary Estimates (Lending and Investing Activities) for the Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure.
- 5. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates, Supplementary Estimates and Supplementary Estimates (Lending and Investing Activities) for the Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure.
- 6. The committee recessed from 12:11 p.m. until 1:00 p.m.
- 7. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Environment.
- 8. The following Environment Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Dustin Duncan, Minister Liz Quarshie, Deputy Minister Donna Johnson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Support Division Kevin Murphy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Resource Management and Compliance Division Ted Stobbs, Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Services Division Mark Wittrup, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Protection and Audit Division Sam Ferris, Executive Director, Municipal Branch Lyle Saigeon, Executive Director, Fish and Wildlife Branch Bob Wynes, Executive Director, Forest Service Laurel Welsh, Acting Executive Director, Finance and Administration Branch Kim Graybiel, Director, Climate Change Darryl Jessop, Director, Wildlife Support Section Jennifer McKillop, Director, Aboriginal Affairs Todd Olexson, Acting Director, Lands Branch Wayne Dyvbig, President, Saskatchewan Watershed Authority Bob Carles, Vice-President, Corporate Services, Saskatchewan Watershed Authority Susan Ross, Vice-President, Legal, Regulatory and Aboriginal Affairs, Saskatchewan Watershed Authority

- 9. The committee recessed from 3:02 p.m. until 3:10 p.m.
- 10. The committee resumed consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Environment.
- 11. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Environment.
- 12. It was moved by Mr. Doherty:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

13. The committee adjourned at 5:10 p.m. until May 1, 2012 at 7:00 p.m.

Stacey Ursulescu Committee Clerk Don Toth Committee Chair