STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Tuesday, April 24, 2012

MINUTE NO. 2 7:00 p.m. – Māmawapiwin Room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Don Toth in the Chair and Members Fred Bradshaw, Danielle Chartier, Kevin Doherty, Larry Doke, Victoria Jurgens and Corey Tochor*.

Substituting Members

Corey Tochor for Nancy Heppner

Other Members

Cathy Sproule

2. The Chair advised the committee that, pursuant to Rule 146(1), the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the following ministries and agencies were deemed referred to the committee on March 29, 2012 and March 21, 2012, respectively:

Vote 1	Agriculture
Vote 23	Energy and Resources
Vote 43,144	Enterprise and Innovation Programs
Vote 83	Enterprise Saskatchewan
Vote 26	Environment
Vote 16	Highways and Infrastructure
Vote 17	Highways and Infrastructure Capital
Vote 84	Innovation Saskatchewan
Vote 35	Saskatchewan Research Council

3. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Agriculture.

The following Agriculture Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Bob Bjornerud, Minister

Alanna Koch, Deputy Minister

Rick Burton, Assistant Deputy Minister

Nithi Govindasamy, Associate Deputy Minister

Ray Arscott, Executive Director, Corporate Services

Scott Brown, Executive Director, Policy Branch

Tom Schwartz, Director, Financial Programs Branch

Wally Hoehn, Acting Director, Lands Branch

Shawn Jaques, Acting General Manager, Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation

Jeff Morrow, Executive Manager, Research and Development, Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation

4. The committee recessed from 8:50 p.m. until 9:01 p.m.

5.	The committee resumed consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Minis of Agriculture.	
6.	5. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Agriculture.	
7.	It was moved by Mr. Bradshaw:	
	That this committee do now adjourn.	
	The question being put, it was agreed to.	
8.	The committee adjourned at 10:11 p.m. until April 25, 2012 at 7:00 p.m.	
	ncey Ursulescu Don Toth Committee Clerk Committee Chair	