STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Wednesday, June 20, 2007

MINUTE NO. 56 9:05 a.m. – Room 8, Legislative Building

1. **Present:** Ms. Hamilton in the Chair and Members Chisholm*, Crofford*, Iwanchuk*, Stewart, Weekes, and Yates.

Substituting Members

Mr. Chisholm for Mr. Kirsch

Ms. Crofford for Hon. Ms. Higgins Mr. Iwanchuk for Mr. Lautermilch

Committee Officials

Iris Lang, Clerk Assistant (Committees)

2. The following documents were tabled:

ECO 135/25 Consulting Engineers of Saskatchewan: Written submission entitled "Trade, Investment and Labour Mobility Agreement in Relation to the Consulting Engineers and Consulting Geoscientists of Saskatchewan", dated June 2007.

ECO 136/25 City of Regina: Supplementary information dated June 11, 2007.

ECO 137/25 Bill Adamson: Written submission (email), dated June 14, 2007.

ECO 138/25 Regina Community Clinic: Written submission dated June 15, 2007

ECO 139/25 Elaine Hughes: Written submissions entitled "Whose Canada?" and "Threat to our Waters: NAFTA, the SPP and Super-Corridors".

ECO 140/25 Communications, Energy and Paperworkers Union of Canada: Written submission dated June 7, 2007.

ECO 141/25 Robert H. McKercher: Written submission dated June 19, 2007.

- 3. The committee, pursuant to Rule 146(2), resumed its enquiry into the state of internal trade in Saskatchewan.
- 4. It was moved by Ms. Crofford that:

The committee do now meet *in camera* and that Cole Goetz, Opposition Researcher, one representative from the Minister of Government Relations' Office (on a rotating basis between Mark Pitzel, Brenda Kondra, or Jeremy Petrisor), Bob Donald, Director, Trade Policy, Department of Government Relations, and Jonathan Selnes and Kiley Frantik, Legislative Interns, be permitted to remain in attendence.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

Standing Committee on the Economy Wednesday, June 20, 2007

- 5. Mr. Robert Musgrave, Director, Trade Initiatives, Trade Policy Branch, Ministry of Economic Development, Government of British Columbia, and Mr. Shawn Robbins, Director, Trade Policy, Ministry of International, Intergovernmental and Aboriginal Relations, Government of Alberta addressed the committee and responded to questions.
- 6. The committee recessed from 10:12 a.m. until 10:32 a.m.
- 7. The committee resumed its discussions with Mr. Musgrave and Mr. Robbins.
- 8. The committee recessed from 11:59 a.m. until 1:31 p.m.
- 9. The committee resumed its discussions with Mr. Musgrave and Mr. Robbins.
- 10. The committee recessed from 3:50 p.m. until 4:08 p.m.
- 11. The committee resumed its discussions with Mr. Musgrave and Mr. Robbins.
- 12. The committee adjourned at 5:19 p.m. until Thursday, June 21, 2007 at 10:00 a.m.

Viktor Kaczkowski Committee Clerk	Doreen Hamilton Chair	_