STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Wednesday, June 13, 2007

MINUTE NO. 54 9:07 a.m. – Michelangelo Room, Radisson Hotel, Saskatoon

1. **Present:** Ms. Hamilton in the Chair and Members Chisholm*, Crofford*, Junor*, Kirsch, Weekes, and Yates.

Substituting Members

Mr. Chisholm for Mr. Stewart Ms. Crofford for Hon. Ms. Higgins Hon. Ms. Junor for Mr. Lautermilch

Other Members

Ms. Heppner

Committee Officials

Michel Carpentier, Research Officer

- 2. The committee, pursuant to Rule 146(2), resumed its enquiry into the state of internal trade in Saskatchewan.
- 3. Ms. Tracy Marchant, representing the University of Saskatchewan Faculty Association, addressed the committee and responded to questions. The following document was tabled:
 - **ECO 117/25 University of Saskatchewan Faculty Association:** Written submission entitled "The Trade, Investment and Labour Mobility Agreement: What does it mean for post-secondary education?", dated June 13, 2007.
- 4. Mr. Murray Hidlebaugh, representing the Saskatchewan Environmental Society, addressed the committee and responded to questions. The following document was tabled:
 - **ECO 118/25 Saskatchewan Environmental Society:** Written submission entitled "Position Paper Concerning the Trade, Investment and Labour Mobility Agreement by the Saskatchewan Environmental Society", dated June 13, 2007.
- 5. Mr. Kent Smith-Windsor, representing the Greater Saskatoon Chamber of Commerce, addressed the committee and responded to questions. The following documents were tabled:
 - **ECO 119/25 Greater Saskatoon Chamber of Commerce:** Written submission entitled "Position Paper on Submission on behalf on Council of Canadians Moose Jaw Chapter to the Standing Committee on the Economy, Saskatchewan Legislature", dated June 13, 2007.
- 6. Mr. David Orchard addressed the committee and responded to questions.
- 7. The committee recessed from 12:21 p.m. until 1:35 p.m.
- 8. Mr. Robert Lundquist, representing the Lloydminster Chamber of Commerce, addressed the committee and, with Ms. Pat Tenney, responded to questions. The following document was tabled:

ECO 120/25 Lloydminster Chamber of Commerce: Written submission.

- 9. Ms. Carla Smith, representing the Canadian Union of Public Employees, Local 974, addressed the committee and, with Ms. Jacquie Griffiths, responded to questions. The following document was tabled:
 - **ECO 121/25 Canadian Union of Public Employees, Local #974:** Written submission entitled "Submission to the Standing Committee on the Economy".
- 10. The committee recessed from 2:24 p.m. until 2:46 p.m.
- 11. Ms. Janice Sanford Beck and Ms. Val Veillard, representing the Saskatoon Food Coalition, addressed the committee and responded to questions. The following document was tabled.
 - **ECO 122/25 Saskatoon Food Coalition:** Written submission entitled "Saskatoon Food Coalition Presentation to the Standing Committee on the Economy Regarding TILMA".
- 12. Mr. Terry Zahorski, representing the Regina and District Labour Council, addressed the committee and responded to questions. The following document was tabled:
 - **ECO 123/25 Regina and District Labour Council:** Written submission entitled "Submission by Terry Zahorski President, Regina & District Labour Council to the Standing Committee on the Economy, Saskatchewan Legislative Assembly on the Trade, Investment & Labour Mobility Agreement", dated June 13, 2007.
- 13. The committee recessed from 3:41 p.m. until 4:15 p.m.
- 14. Ms. Sharon Cameron, Mr. Brian Nixon, Ms. Kelly Harrington, Ms. Sandy Weyland, and Ms. Darla Leard, representing the Saskatoon and District Labour Council and the Humboldt and District Labour Council, addressed the committee and responded to questions. The following document was tabled:
 - ECO 124/25 Saskatoon and District Labour Council, and Humboldt and District Labour Council: Written submission entitled "Submission to the Standing Committee on the Economy Government of Saskatchewan".
- 15. It was moved by Mr. Weekes:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

16. The committee adjourned at 5:03 p.m. until Thursday, June 14, 2007 at 9:00 a.m.

Viktor Kaczkowski	Doreen Hamilton	
Committee Clerk	Chair	