STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY March 13, 2007

MINUTE NO. 37 3:00 p.m. – Room 8

1. **Present:** Mr. Yates in the Chair and Members Borgerson*, Hamilton, Higgins, Iwanchuk*, Kirsch, Lautermilch, Stewart, Trew* and Weekes.

Substituting Members

Mr. Borgerson for Ms. Hamilton (for consideration of Supplementary Estimates for Department of Regional Economic and Co-operative Development and the Department of Agriculture and Food)

Mr. Iwanchuk for Hon. Mr. Lautermilch (8:00 p.m. – 8:21 p.m. only)

Mr. Trew for Hon. Mr. Lautermilch (for consideration of Supplementary Estimates for Department of Environment)

Other Members

Mr. Allchurch, Mr. Bjornerud, Mr. Cheveldayoff, Ms. Draude, Mr. Elhard, Ms. Heppner, Mr. Hermanson, Mr. Krawetz

- 2. The committee resumed its consideration of Bill No. 5 The Oil and Gas Conservation Amendment Act, 2006.
- 3. The question being put on clauses 1 to 8, they were agreed to.
- 4. It was moved by Ms. Hamilton:

That the committee report Bill No. 5 – The Oil and Gas Conservation Amendment Act, 2006 – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

- 5. The committee resumed its consideration of Bill No. 32 The Superannuation (Supplementary Provisions) Amendment Act, 2006.
- 6. The following Department of Finance Minister appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witness

Hon. Andrew Thomson, Minister

- 7. The committee adjourned its consideration of Bill No. 32 The Superannuation (Supplementary Provisions) Amendment Act, 2006.
- 8. The committee considered the Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Finance.

The following Department of Finance Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Andrew Thomson, Minister Doug Matthies, Deputy Minister

9. The following document was tabled:

ECO 37/25 Department of Finance: Written submission entitled "Written responses to questions from the Standing Committee on the Economy" dated March 1, 2007.

10. On motion of Ms. Hamilton:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2007 the following sum:

For Finance \$1,500,000

- 11. The committee recessed from 3:47 p.m. to 3:58 p.m.
- 12. The committee considered the Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Environment.

The following Department of Environment Minister appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witness

Hon. John Nilson, Minister

13. On motion of Ms. Hamilton:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2007 the following sum:

- 14. The committee recessed from 4:37 p.m. to 7:02 p.m.
- 15. The committee considered the Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Regional Economic and Co-operative Development.
- 16. The following Department of Regional Economic and Co-operative Development Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses:

Hon. Mark Wartman, Minister Denise Haas, Deputy Minister Dion McGrath, Executive Director, Policy and Planning 17. On motion of the Hon. Ms. Higgins:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2007 the following sum:

For Regional Economic and Co-operative Development \$315,000

- 18. The committee recessed from 7:25 p.m. to 7:33 p.m.
- 19. The committee considered the Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Agriculture and Food.
- 20. The following Department of Agriculture and Food Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Mark Wartman, Minister Harvey Brooks, Deputy Minister

21. On motion of the Hon. Ms. Higgins:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2007 the following sum:

For Agriculture and Food\$ 37,434,000

- 22. The committee considered its Seventh Report.
- 23. It was moved by Mr. Weekes:

That the Seventh Report of the Standing Committee on the Economy be adopted and presented to the Assembly.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

24. The committee adjourned at 8:21 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Viktor Kaczkowski	Kevin Yates
Committee Clerk	Committee Chair