STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY November 29, 2006

MINUTE NO. 34 3:00 p.m. – Room 8

1. **Present**: Mr. Yates in the Chair and Members Bjornerud*, Borgerson*, Cheveldayoff*, Hamilton, Kirsch, Nilson* and Weekes.

Substituting Members

- Mr. Bjornerud for Mr. Weekes (for consideration of the Estimates of the Saskatchewan Infrastructure Fund and Bill No. 2)
- Mr. Borgerson for Mr. Lautermilch
- Mr. Cheveldayoff for Mr. Stewart
- Mr. Nilson for Ms. Higgins

Other Members

Ms. Draude, Mr. Weekes

2. The committee considered the Supplementary Estimates for the Saskatchewan Infrastructure Fund.

The following Department of Finance Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Andrew Thomson, Minister Doug Matthies, Deputy Minister Karen Layng, Assistant Deputy Minister, Treasury Board Branch Kirk McGregor, Assistant Deputy Minister, Taxation and Intergovernmental Affairs Branch Brian Bettcher, Director, Budget Review, Treasury Board Branch Rob Dobson, Director, Provincial Sales Tax Branch Doug Lambert, Director, Revenue Programs Branch Arun Srinivas, Senior Analyst, Taxation Policy, Taxation and Intergovernmental Affairs Branch

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the Supplementary Estimates for the Saskatchewan Infrastructure Fund.
- 4. The committee began consideration of Bill No. 2 The Provincial Sales Tax Amendment Act, 2006.

The following Department of Finance Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Andrew Thomson, Minister Doug Matthies, Deputy Minister Kirk McGregor, Assistant Deputy Minister, Taxation and Intergovernmental Affairs Branch Rob Dobson, Director, Provincial Sales Tax Branch

5. The question being put on clauses 1 to 5, they were agreed to.

6. It was moved by Ms. Hamilton:

That the committee report Bill No. 2 - The Provincial Sales Tax Amendment Act, 2006 – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

7. The committee began consideration of Bill No. 16 - The Tobacco Tax Amendment Act, 2006.

The following Department of Finance Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Andrew Thomson, Minister Doug Matthies, Deputy Minister Kirk McGregor, Assistant Deputy Minister, Taxation and Intergovernmental Affairs Branch Doug Lambert, Director, Revenue Programs Branch

- 8. The question being put on clauses 1 to 3, they were agreed to.
- 9. It was moved by Ms. Hamilton:

That the committee report Bill No. 16 - The Tobacco Tax Amendment Act, 2006 – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

10. The committee began consideration of Bill No. 35 - The Infrastructure Fund Act.

The following Department of Finance Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Andrew Thomson, Minister Doug Matthies, Deputy Minister Karen Layng, Assistant Deputy Minister, Treasury Board Branch Brian Bettcher, Director, Budget Review, Treasury Board Branch

- 11. The question being put on clauses 1 to 11, they were agreed to.
- 12. It was moved by Ms. Hamilton:

That the committee report Bill No. 35 - The Infrastructure Fund Act – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

13. The committee began consideration of Bill No. 36 - The Income Tax Amendment Act, 2006 (No. 2).

The following Department of Finance Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Andrew Thomson, Minister Doug Matthies, Deputy Minister Kirk McGregor, Assistant Deputy Minister, Taxation and Intergovernmental Affairs Branch Arun Srinivas, Senior Analyst, Taxation Policy, Taxation and Intergovernmental Affairs Branch

- 14. The question being put on clauses 1 to 9, they were agreed to.
- 15. It was moved by Ms. Hamilton:

That the committee report Bill No. 36 - The Income Tax Amendment Act, 2006 (No. 2) – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

16. It was moved by Ms. Hamilton:

That the committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

17. The committee adjourned at 4:54 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Margaret A. Woods Committee Clerk Kevin Yates Committee Chair