STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY May 16, 2005

MINUTE NO. 20 3:00 p.m. – Room 8

1. **Present**: Mr. Lautermilch in the Chair and Members Bakken Lackey, Hart*, Kirsch*, Krawetz*, McCall*, Hamilton, Higgins, Iwanchuk*, Weekes and Yates.

Substituting Members

Mr. Hart for Mr. Kirsch

- Mr. Iwanchuk for Hon. Ms. Higgins (from 3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. only)
- Mr. Kirsch for Mr. Weekes (8:00 p.m. to 9:42 p.m. only)
- Mr. Krawetz for Ms. Bakken Lackey (for consideration of Bill No. 87)
- Mr. McCall for Hon. Ms. Higgins (from 4:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. only)

Other Member

Ms. Eagles, Mr. Elhard, Mr. McMorris

2. It was moved by Mr. Krawetz:

That this committee agrees to hold public consultations on Bill 87: An Act to amend *The Trade Union Act*, and that these consultations be concluded no later than September 30, 2005.

A debate arising and the question being put, it was negatived on division.

3. The following motion was, by leave of the committee, withdrawn:

By Mr. Krawetz: That this committee agrees to hear witnesses on Bill No. 87 - An Act to amend *The Trade Union Act*, and that these witnesses be allowed to make presentations and to be questioned by committee members beginning today and concluding no later than September 30, 2005.

4. The committee considered Bill No. 87 – The Trade Union Amendment Act, 2004.

The following Department of Labour Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Deb Higgins, Minister Bill Craik, Deputy Minister John Boyd, Executive Director, Planning and Policy Division Eric Greene, Director, Labour Standards Melanie Baldwin, Board Registrar, Labour Relations Board Mary Ellen Wellsch, Manager, Legal Planning and Legislation

- 5. The committee adjourned consideration of Bill No. 87 The Trade Union Amendment Act, 2004.
- 6. The committee considered Bill No. 88 The Health Labour Relations Reorganization Amendment Act, 2004.

The following Department of Labour Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Deb Higgins, Minister Bill Craik, Deputy Minister John Boyd, Executive Director, Planning and Policy Division Eric Greene, Director, Labour Standards Mary Ellen Wellsch, Manager, Legal Planning and Legislation Melanie Baldwin, Board Registrar, Labour Relations Board

- 7. The question being put on clauses 1 to 4, they were agreed to.
- 8. During consideration of clause 5, it was moved by Mr. Yates:

Amend clause 5 of the printed Bill by striking out "December 31, 2004" and substituting "assent".

The amendment was agreed to.

The question being put on clause 5 as amended, it was agreed to.

9. It was moved by Mr. Yates:

That the committee report Bill No. 88 – The Health Labour Relations Reorganization Amendment Act, 2004 – as amended.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

10. The committee considered Bill No. 95 - The Ecological Reserves Amendment Act, 2005.

The following Department of Environment Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses Hon. David Forbes, Minister Lily Stonehouse, Deputy Minister Denis Sherratt, Executive Director, Planning and Evaluation Branch Fred Beek, Manager, Strategic and Environmental Studies, Planning and Evaluation Branch

- 11. The committee recessed from 5:05 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.
- 12. The committee resumed consideration of Bill No. 95 The Ecological Reserves Amendment Act, 2005.
- 13. The question being put on clauses 1 to 4, they were agreed to.
- 14. It was moved by the Hon. Ms. Higgins:

That the committee report Bill No. 95 – The Ecological Reserves Amendment Act, 2005 - without amendment.

The question being put, it was agree to.

15. The committee considered Bill No. 98 – The Prairie and Forest Fires Amendment Act, 2005.

The following Department of Environment Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. David Forbes, Minister Lily Stonehouse, Deputy Minister Alan Parkinson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Compliance, Fire and Forest Division

- 16. The question being put on Clauses 1 to 7, they were agreed to.
- 17. It was moved by Mr. Yates:

Ordered, That the committee report Bill No. 98 – The Prairie and Forest Fires Amendment Act, 2005 - without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

18. The following document was tabled:

ECO 13/25 – Department of Environment: Saskatchewan Wildfire Management Strategies.

19. The committee resumed consideration of the Estimates for the Department of Environment.

The following Department of Environment Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. David Forbes, Minister Lily Stonehouse, Deputy Minister Stuart Kramer, President, Saskatchewan Watershed Authority Alan Parkinson, Associate Deputy Minister, Compliance, Fire and Forest Dave Phillips, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environment and Resource Stewardship Wayne Dybvig, Vice President, Operation Saskatchewan Watershed Authority Donna Johnson, Director, Finance and Administration, Corporate Services Grant McVicar, Director, Office of Energy Conservation Ron Zukowsky, Director, Program Support and Policy Development

- 20. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Department of Environment.
- 21. The committee adjourned at 9:42 p.m. to the call of the Chair.