STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY May 4, 2005

MINUTE NO. 18 3:00 p.m. – Room 8

1. **Present**: Mr. Lautermilch in the Chair and Members Allchurch*, Cheveldayoff*, Hamilton, Higgins, Kirsch, Weekes and Yates.

Substituting Member

- Mr. Allchurch for Ms. Bakken Lackey (for consideration of the Estimates of the Department of Environment)
- Mr. Cheveldayoff for Ms. Bakken Lackey (for consideration of the Estimates of the Department of Finance)

Other Members

Ms. Bakken Lackey, Ms. Draude, Mr. Hart, Mr. Heppner, Mr. Huyghebaert

2. The following document was tabled:

ECO 11/25 – Saskatchewan Watershed Authority: Responses to questions raised at the April 13, 2005 meeting of the committee, re: TransGas Project near Vanscoy, dated April 29, 2005.

3. The committee resumed consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Finance.

The following Department of Finance Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Harry Van Mulligen, Minister
Ron Styles, Deputy Minister
Kirk McGregor, Assistant Deputy Minister, Taxation and Intergovernmental Affairs
Dennis Polowyk, Assistant Deputy Minister, Treasury and Debt Management
Glen Veikle, Assistant Deputy Minister, Treasury Board
Joanne Brockman, Executive Director, Economic and Fiscal Policy
Brian Smith, Executive Director, Public Employees Benefits Agency
Bill Van Sickle, Executive Director, Easkatchewan Pension Plan

- 4. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Finance.
- 5. The committee resumed consideration of the Estimates for the Department of Environment.

The following Department of Environment Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. David Forbes, Minister Lily Stonehouse, Deputy Minister Stuart Kramer, President, Saskatchewan Watershed Authority Dave Phillips, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environment and Resource Stewardship <u>Witnesses (continued)</u> Bob Ruggles, Assistant Deputy Minister, Planning and Risk Analysis Steve Roberts, Executive Director, Fire Management and Forest Protection Allan Willcocks, Executive Director, Forest Service Donna Johnson, Director, Finance and Administration, Corporate Services

- 6. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Department of Environment.
- 7. The committee adjourned at 5:02 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Eldon Lautermilch Committee Chair