STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY April 28, 2004

MINUTE NO. 2 3:00 p.m. - Room 8

1. **PRESENT**: Mr. Lautermilch in the Chair and Members Chisholm, Hamilton, Higgins, Huyghebaert, Stewart and Yates.

Other Members

Messrs. Cheveldayoff, Gantefoer, Hart, Merriman and Wakefield

- 2. The Chair made an opening statement to mark the historic first broadcast of the committee's proceedings.
- 3. The committee considered its regular meeting times. It was then moved by Ms. Hamilton:

That in accordance with Rules 110 and 3(4) of the Rules and Procedures of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan, when this committee convenes during the hours specified by Rule 3(1) for the daily meeting of the Assembly, during the sessional period it shall follow the Assembly's recess and adjournment times unless otherwise ordered.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

4. The Chair advised that the committee had received an Order of the Assembly, dated April 27, 2004 to consider and report back on the Estimates for the following departments and agencies:

Vote 70	Centenary Fund
Vote 12, 18, 175, 176, 177	Finance
Vote 23, 171	Industry and Resources
Vote 20	Labour
Vote 35	Saskatchewan Research Council
Vote 71	Fiscal Stabilization Fund
Vote 147	Agricultural Credit Corporation of Saskatchewan
Vote 140	Saskatchewan Water Corporation
Vote 164	Saskatchewan Watershed Authority
Vote 165	Crown Investment Corporation of Saskatchewan
Vote 159	Information Services Corporation of Saskatchewan
Vote 154	Saskatchewan Opportunities Corporation
Vote 152	Saskatchewan Power Corporation
Vote 153	Saskatchewan Telecommunications Holding Corporation
Vote 150	SaskEnergy Incorporated

3. The committee considered the Estimates for the Department of Industry and Resources.

The following Department of Industry and Resources Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions.

<u>Witnesses</u> Eric Cline, Minister Larry Spannier, Deputy Minister Witnesses (continued)

Jim Marshall, Assistant Deputy Minister, Resource and Economic Policy Debbie Wilkie, Assistant Deputy Minister, Industry Development Bruce Wilson, Executive Director, Petroleum and Natural Gas Division Denise Haas, Executive Director, Investment and Corporate Resources Hal Sanders, Executive Director, Revenue and Funding Services Gary Delaney, Director, Northern Geological Survey, Exploration and Geological Services Roy Anderson, President and Chief Executive Officer, Tourism Saskatchewan Louise Usick, Director of Finance and Administration, Tourism Saskatchewan John Treleaven, President and Chief Executive Officer, Saskatchewan Trade and Export Partnership Gerald Adamson, Vice President, Saskatchewan Trade and Export Partnership

6. It was moved by Mr. Stewart:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

7. The committee adjourned at 4:52 p.m. to the call of the chair.

Margaret A. Woods Committee Clerk Eldon Lautermilch Committee Chair